When People Tell You, "That's A Pipe Dream"...

in #music7 years ago (edited)

The Journey continues for me on my path. As I started to learn about Bitcoin and crypto currency, then the wonderful world of Steemit came into my life.

bitcoin11.png

It can be a bit difficult and frustrating when you try and explain something you've become passionate about. As I begin my firsts steps into explaining Bitcoin to others, you're more than likely to hear the following phrase... "that's a pipe dream." It's current definition is, "an illusory or fantastic plan, hope, or story." (True origins date back to the opium dens late 1800's http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/pipe-dream.html) That phrase is meant in a negative connotation as a response to what Bitcoin is.

If you really break down that definition in reference to Bitcoin though, it's actually very apt.

My whole point is this though. "Necessity is the mother of invention." Bitcoin has been created. The diversity and innovation that is being derived from it is magnificent.

Check this video out.... Diversity...Innovation....Pipe Dream.

Now when I ask someone, "what do you know about Bitcoin?" and I hear, "That's a pipe dream". I'm not as frustrated anymore. I will continue to educate the masses and will not be deterred.

Currently the value of just one Bitcoin is $1,100.00 USD. Now I just respond, "Stick that in your pipe and smoke it."
https://coinmarketcap.com/all/views/all/

Hope you enoyed the post and don't forget to vote early and often!!!

Excelsior!!!!!

Sort:  

Never heard of the "tubulum" before, but I love it already!

The problem is, now I want to build one... ;) Thanks! 😄😇😄

@creatr

EDIT: I found this set of plans for one, but it's not as compactly portable as the Pipe Guy's... ;)

Yes....he obviuosly perfected his "tubulum" over time... you should check out his links on youtube. Half the fun is in building one :-)
The flip flops though.... that's inspiring.

Yes, indeed... All inspiring! Thank you for sharing. ;)

Some of my best dreams were pipe dreams. I'm just saying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62