Wishing You a Dodgy? #MetalWeekend!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I've been having fun sharing for @detlev’s #metalweekend tag and this weekend I thought I'd share some great songs that step into the realm of dodgy for one reason or another in this warped mind of mine.

Burgers in the Food Hall

First up is Murders in the Rue Morgue, from Iron Maiden. Yes, this quite a normal song, but when I first heard it I thought he was saying ‘burgers,’ not ‘murders' so my brain needed to make some sense of it and it became ‘burgers in the food hall!’ This became an ongoing joke between @realtreebivvy and I. To this day we can't sing this song without altering the lyrics!

Released on the album Killers in 1981, the song is based on the book by Edgar Allan Poe of the same name.

~○♤○~

Orgasmic

I've always liked Rocket Queen by Guns ‘n’ Roses, but often wondered why they had what sounded like a woman having an orgasm part way through. It turns out it sounded like that because it was actually was a recording of a woman orgasming! Adriana Smith used to hang with the group and had some intimate relationships with some of the band members. For this song she was asked to spend time with Axl Rose in a recording booth to see what recordings they could come up with. Apparently they were in that booth for quite some time and Adriana admits that she most certainly orgasmed!

The song itself was written for a girl Axl knew who was going to start a girl band called Rocket Queen (no it wasn't Adriana, in case you were wondering). It was released in 1987. What I particularly like about the song is that there are two distinct parts to it which still, somehow, work together. The first half is upbeat and the second is slower and affectionate.

~○♤○~

Crazy

I particularly love the intro into Ozzy Osbourne's Crazy Train. There isn't really anything dodgy about this song itself, but ‘crazy’ is certainly a word that has followed Ozzy around. He even has a crazy look about him, but there's no denying he's a great artist and he gets my respect!

The song was written about the cold war fear of annihilation that existed at the time. It was released in 1980 on his first solo album after leaving Black Sabbath. The version I'm sharing here is a digitally remastered one.

I hope you enjoyed this selection. Do you have any songs which you found dodgy, but loved them nevertheless?

~○♤○~

Sort:  

Killers is a "Killer-Album" 😎
Heavy Weekend 🤘🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88