Songs to Make the Hair on Your Neck Stand on End.

in #music6 years ago

Are there songs that make the hair on the back of your neck stand on end? For me it's usually the ones with harmonies of multiple instruments or voices. As a change from Metal Weekend, I'd like to share three haunting songs.

First up is an instrumental from Metallica and Symphony, Ecstasy of Gold. This is an orchestral piece orginally written by Ennio Morricone for the 1966 film The Good the Bad and the Ugly and Metallica uses it as the intro to their live shows. It's great when they do it alone, but when they did it with the symphony orchestra for their S&M tour it was something else! Close your eyes in a room with some good surround sound speakers for the best effect.

~○♤○~

Up next is Simon and Garfunkel’s Sound of Silence. I've always loved the harmonies of their songs, but this has got to be the best one. It was first released in 1964 on the album Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M. which was a flop and they split up. Thankfully, it was remixed and re-released the following year as a single by the producer. It was so successful that it brought them back together and they followed up with a string of other hits.

This song has been covered numerous times, but so far the original still remains my favourite.

~○♤○~

Saving the most haunting till last here with Enya’s Evening Falls Released 1988. This song was worked around a ghost story where an American woman keeps having dreams of wandering around an old house. Many years pass by and she and her husband retire to England where she comes across the very house in her dreams. She knocks on the door and the people in the house regard her with fear. When asked why, they tell her that they have seen her haunting the house.

Although this exact story is not told in the words of the song, its haunting harmonies are very fitting for the idea and listening to it gives me goose bumps every time!

Which songs make your hairs stand on end?

~○♤○~

Sort:  

OH I love S&M, have not listened to it for a few years to be honest and completely forgot about how good it is.
I think since my best mate passed away I have drifted away from it, because we used to listen to it regularly. But now I have healed a lot more it's time to enjoy it again and think about all the good times.
Going to have to chuck it on tomorrow :)

Thanks for sharing this

I can imagine it would have been tough to listen to in those circumstances.

An inspiring post - I'd not considered doing a music post myself until now that I've seen an example of it done in a way that I could! Thanks @minismallholding :D

The first two made my hair stand, the third made me sad. SOS, in its original, is also an eternal one for me.

I'll offer you one, it's by Abida Parveen, a Pakistani Sufi singer (10 mins):
https://soundcloud.com/cokesudio7/ustaad-raees-khan-abida-parveen-mein-sufi-hon

Big hugs to RTB from Shanti and me, hope it's going ok at the forge!
🚣

Thank you Barge. It was a tough day. I dropped my eldest daughter at the airport in the morning for her first real forays into the world on her own and was physically and mentally drained. This was just the piece of music to calm me for sleep.

The boss at the forge is pretty pleased with what RTB is accomplishing, so things are good in that respect. I think he'd still rather not be working though. We'll do what we can while the money comes in to get us in a position where he maybe doesn't have to do this for the rest of his life.

That's a really big step for her, and for you as her parents I imagine! I send you all my very best wishes and hopes that she may find her way and be strong and aware and independent and always safe. And may RTB swiffffffftly return to off-matrix living again 🔆 🔆 🔆

Here's one more for you, couldn't resist :D .... for me, this is peace and tranquility; spirit - birth - life - death - rebirth.

The Lark Ascending (Vaughan Williams) - 16 mins

Sound of Silence and 'One by One' by Enya do it for me. There's also something about 'Fight Song' by Rachel Platten that uplifts my spirit

Looks like I'll have a list to listen to at breakfast!

Cemetery gates - Pantera.
Mayonaise - Smashing Pumpkins.
Eulogy - Tool.

I'll add these to my list of listening in the morning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65