7-Day Music Challenge: Your Top Albums - #1 "American Teen" by Khalid

in #music6 years ago (edited)

This is another of those cases where a singer gets in my head for weeks and even if it does not leave my mind.

More than a year ago I was watching on YouTube choreographies of Jake Kodish, and automatically played one where he dancing Location.

The connection was instantaneous, perhaps due to the lyrics and voice of Khalid, the way the dancer transformed each word into an action, or the fusion of both hypotheses.

Not only did it happen to me with only one piece, but with the whole album "American teen"; I like it so much that for the first time I think I will never get bored of listening to it.

I think that what happened to me with Khalid was that besides his music, I identified with him as a human being and that made me appreciate him much more.

Months ago he participated in the series Dare to Live of MTV; and there he undressed.

He told experiences that seemed very intimate to me; He talked about his family and his life as a teenager, and right at that point was where he shared something that made me connect totally.

He said that when he was at school he practiced athletics and that he was not good at running, so he was forced by himself to be good.

Khalid explained that when you strive to be better, and you get it, that feeling becomes the best in the world.

It was as if I had heard him talk about me, because my history in sports is like his: the only talent we were born with was passion.

And maybe because of that passion has achieved success so quickly.



💥 Style


"American Teen" is the first album by Khalid, and was published in 2017. There he gathers 12 songs constructed by him with experiences of his youth, especially in love.

Between R&B, Rap and Pop integrates you in an atmosphere that is sometimes relaxing and other times where it only causes you to dance.

I see Khalid as "the good boy of the bad girls", although it sounds funny. But I only perceive sincerity and even a little innocence in his lyrics.

At 20 years of age, he looks like someone introverted, but reveals himself when he sings. And although it has achieved fame, it is still as simple as ever.

This album has what it takes to be part of anyone's playlist; It is very digestible and versatile, both lyrically and instrumentally.

In addition, it's a sign that this century is creating music that is worthwhile.

This artist doesn't use vulgarities in his lyrics, and that already says a lot.


🎵 My playlist


1. "Location"

2."Saved"

3."Coaster"


📌 Rules

  • You need to pick your 7 all time favourite albums. Post one every day for seven days in a row.
  • One song (at least) from each album has to be in your playlist currently. Oh yeah, you also have to share this song with us through YouTube.
  • The Cover of the Album has to be the main theme of your post each day.
  • No need to explain why the specific album is a favourite of yours, but if you feel like it, please do!
  • Use #albumchallenge as a tag.
  • Last but not least, nominate a different steemian each day.

I thank @matkodurko for nominating me; For days we asked ourselves why we have the habit of sharing everything we hear with other people, and we conclude that the good things in life are enjoyed more when they are shared.

Now I nominate @elfranz because I know he is a music lover and it intrigues me to know what strange and cool music he can share.

Music has the power to influence our energy, and I hope you can get a song that makes you feel good among my recommendations.

For now, I hope you like American Teen.



Sort:  

Haha tell the truth! I asked you and you explained it to me :D

But I wouldn't have thought it if you had not asked 😜

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Milkabustamante from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72