Song of the day! #1

in #music7 years ago

song-of-the-day-1.jpg

Hello again!

My song of the day is 'On Hold (Jamie xx Remix) and heres why...

For years, Jamie xx has been one of my favourite artists. For an artist to create some of the most chilled songs (with The XX) and create club hits just proves he is one of the most versatile artists around at the moment. I have a lot of respect for his talent, he is definitely a huge inspiration.

One of the best bits about the song is the use of the chopped vocal; when I first heard it on the original (by the XX), I knew it had potential to be reworked and Jamie xx has done that perfectly here.

The solid beat in the background carries the song throughout, with the perfect blend of bass, hit hats and melodies. It is one of those songs that really takes you on a journey, dipping and rising in all the right areas.

The only downside I can think of with this song is that it sounds quite similar to a Calvin Harris track - not saying its a totally bad thing but Calvin Harris is the face of mainstream; I just hope Jamie doesn't follow him down that route.

Got any songs that I should listen to? Just comment bellow, really open to anything :)

This was more of an experimental post, I plan to do as many of these as I can so you will get a very good idea of my weird and varied music taste!

Thanks for taking the time to read!

See you in the next post,

Mike

Sort:  

Congratulations @mikewebb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28