Intro to Synthwave/Retrowave

in #music7 years ago (edited)

I'm an 80s kid, and the sights and sounds of the decade and anything which celebrates them are pretty comfy with me. Moving on from my punk/thrash dominated adolescence, I spent most of the last decade listening largely to a variety of electronica, ambient, post-rock music and the occasional bit of minimalist genius. More frequently I found that some vidya OSTs were matching or surpassing anything I'd heard before.

Being a big fan of dystopian scifi I found myself, on one drunken night in 2015, googling "dystopian music". This led me first to "Cyberpunk vs Post-Cyberpunk" which led to myriad other compilations and playlists on Youtube.

Eventually certain tracks started popping up which had a lot more energy, more aggression, than the ambient/electronica sounds featured generally. Looking up the individual tracks and artists led to me discovering Synthwave/Retrowave/Darksynth - a genre(s) which took the 80s sound and aesthetic and pumped it up to 11^11.

So it seems us 80s kids (late Gen-Xers/early Millenials) are beginning to show our age and yearning for younger years. As well as music we're also seeing this show up in movies like the incredible indie production Kung Fury and the influence of Synthwave/Retrowave is obvious in the trailer for Thor: Ragnarok.

Below are a number of single tracks which serve as good examples of the genre, and if you like any of them they're followed by playlists/compilations.

Hope you enjoy.

Followup post (first of many hopefully) can be found here Friday Night Music
Please add/comment any of your own favourite examples of the genre below

Sort:  

Congratulations @mifhein! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great selection here. Are you into the broader vaporwave movement as well? Upped & Followed

I've seen 'vaporwave' referred to previously, but looking it up now I realise that I've not really been exposed to it properly so many thanks for the tip off - seems exactly like the kind of music I'll enjoy.

This was great, Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64807.94
ETH 3507.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37