"If the American music business made any sense..."

in #music6 years ago

I'll start this post with a tweet by Rachel Maddow an American television host:

If the american music business made any sense, guys like John Moreland would be household names.

— Rachel Maddow MSNBC (@maddow) 23 November 2013

A few weeks ago NPR Tiny Desk Concerts posted a recording session of John Moreland on their YouTube channel. This was the first time I've heard of the guy and his music.

Ever since I found the recording I've been listening to it. I must say, Rachel Maddow was right! From the first time I heard Moreland's music, I was a fan! Moreland's voice, clean acoustic guitar, and lyrics that punch you in the face are just the best combo!

I can say with a straight face, that I spend a lot of time discovering new music and artists. If you scroll through my old posts you can see that quite a few involve music.

But why didn't I cross John Moreland's music before? I guess Rachel Maddow pinpointed an interesting issue. So many great artists like Moreland, get such little exposure. I guess it all has to do with money. These artists simply won't fill stadiums like the typical names filling the pop charts.

Here is my tiny little contribution to spreading the word: John Moreland's Tiny Desk Concert Recording. Enjoy!

Thanks for stopping by! Let me know what you think of the video, and have a good weekend!

Sort:  

Decentralisation means the end to middle men and gatekeepers. Great for music

I was listening to this whilst marking papers this afternoon and really enjoying it. Lots of unheard folk out there. I don't tend to listen to what the big folk tell me I should listen to .. xx Thanks for sharing

Haha me neither! I hardly listen to music radio! Thanks for checking out my stuff :)

I guess the music industry favours attractive people which personalities are easy to market over talents with interesting music.
John Moreland isn't a person you can sell to teen girls or other money making target groups of that kind, so a lot of lables won't even try.
While it isn't my kind of music that much, it at least has a very relaxing quaity to it.

Yeah, it is sad but true! Video killed the radio star say is all :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55