Ebb and Flow, stories told through Chillstep

in #music6 years ago (edited)

30222160_10216168142176524_8409946671088584150_n.jpg

https://soundcloud.com/as-jingwei-fills-the-sea/sets/ebb-and-flow

Jingwei is the spirit guardian and reincarnation of a Nüwa, daughter of the Flame Emperor, who had drowned in the Eastern Sea.
This bird spirit, who had the features of crow, a white beak, and red feet, had sworn to fill the Eastern Sea by dropping twigs and pebbles. The Sea scoffed and told Jingwei that even in a million year, she wouldn't be able to fill the sea.
To this, Jingwei replied that she would spend ten million years, even hundred million years in this task if she had to so that others wouldn't perish as Nüwa did.
So, the idiom "Jingwei tries to fill the sea" means to show dogged determination and perseverance against all odds.

I wrote "Soaring from the Tides" 3 or 4 years ago, just after discovering Chillstep. Then, I was producing orchestral mostly and I've kept much of that influence in my tracks. I use a lot of strings and traditional Asian instruments on top of electronic instruments and wobbly basses. As I do so, I try to "respect" the instrument and do my best to use them as they are usually played.

This is my first EP, my attempt to blend myths, and reality through Chillstep.
If you want to try only track, either try Ebb and Flow or Embers!

Thanks, and of course, I'd be happy to receive any feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63