Hi Steemit! I'm working to create positive impact through creativity and technology.

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Rainbow Talk.jpg

My name is Joel Tiger de Ross, founder of Future Music Industry Network, Metavents and music project Cymatic Empire.

As you’ll read, I have lived a pretty interesting life and have some interesting insights which can really benefit creative entrepreneurs and those wanting to create positive change in the world. My content will be half keeping you updated on my projects and half passing on every bit of useful advice I have to help you reach your life, creative and professional goals. So, if that sounds interesting to you, here is me in a nutshell.

THE PAST

I’m 36 and born in Sarawak, Borneo (like the Amazon, but with Orangutans) I am half indigenous and my Tribe is called Lun Bawang. I mention this because growing up in a tribal culture, then moving to Australia, shaped quite a unique worldview which permeates through all of my work. I also failed every year of school, was expelled twice, escaped gang culture at 16 and a lifetime in and out of prison where many high school friends are today. I learned to make electronic music, started a record label and ran events. Until that lifestyle took its toll and I ended up in rehab. I developed a passion for public speaking from sharing at Alcoholics Anonymous. During that time I had to figure out how I could still be apart of the music industry without exposing myself to the risks that come as an artists or promoter. So I decided to get into technology and try and solve the problems I experienced as artists, organising events and managing my label. With no technology experience, I offered to work for free at a software company to understand how it all works. As it turned out my boss was the President of Linux Australia, was the first person in Australia to implant a microchip under his skin which controlled his house and has put several of his own satellites in space. Here, I not only learned about software development and advanced tech I also learned about coworking spaces, meetup groups and social entrepreneurship. I got heavily involved in the tech and startup Meetup communities. Co-organised the first Virtual Reality Meetup, co-founded the Australian Virtual Reality Industry association and spent some time in Silicon Valley. Despite no formal qualifications or ever completing a year of high school, I found myself doing a Master of Entrepreneurship and Innovation. Until then, I had no value for structured education. School doesn't fit well with creatives or entrepreneurs. I was of the mentality that you should just go out there and just do it. Learn from your mistakes etc. But in the first class, I realised that 90% of my mistakes were the right thing at the wrong time. We can look a piece of gym equipment and figure it out. But without the right technique and mindset, we can exert a whole amount of energy for little to no benefit. Even worse, we could permanently injure ourselves. That's when I realised the importance of good advice, good tools and a support network of peers and mentors. So I started teaching and mentoring aspiring creatives and tech entrepreneurs. I founded the Future Music Industry Network and co-founded Social Innovation meetups.

THE PRESENT

Public Speaking

As you can see by the picture I give talks at festivals, meetups, conferences, do guest lectures on innovation in music and events. I even did the world's first TEDx or TED talk in 360 which you can experience in Virtual Reality like you are standing on stage with me if you have a headset.

360 Version Here
(dont forget tot move the screen for the 360 vid)

Future Music Industry Network

https://www.futuremusicindustry.com/

As a website sharing music and events industry news and culture. We also run industry workshops, meetups and conferences. The FMIN mission is to facilitate the co-creation of a new music industry model through technology, entrepreneurship, and innovation.

Metavents

https://www.metavents.com/

My startup, my baby. Conceived while in rehab, it has since evolved into something I never saw coming. Metavents lets you plan a large-scale outdoor festival in 3D aided by Artificial Intelligence. Think of it as a real world Simcity that you can also explore using Virtual Reality. At the heart of Metavents is a simulation engine for modelling extreme weather, crowd flow and traffic flow. It's this capability that caught the interest of NGOs. So by simply switching over 3D assets from festival to disaster relief assets, Metavents can plan a refugee camp as easily as it can a music festival. We have partnered with a charity concert calle Rock Against Poverty to plan 50 charity concerts in 25 countries to raise $1 billion annually for disaster mitigation and poverty alleviation projects. The launch event will be on Koh Phangan Island in Thailand later this year, with the full 50 events kicking off in 2019.

Cymatic Empire

Cymatic Empire is my creative outlet, but also is partly research and development. The mission is to figure out how artists can use emerging tech such as Virtual, Augmented and Mixed Reality in a way that translates into income. The best way to test what works and what doesn't is to be the guinea pig. All Cymatic Empire albums will have an interactive Virtual Reality aspect to them and will be collaborations with some of the world's most amazing visual artists. Here is a sneak peek of our upcoming album. If psytrance isn't your style, I also make downtempo ambient which I'll be sharing here.

THE FUTURE

The next few months are going to be amazing. So hit that follow button and help spread the world. As I mentioned, I am here to meet interesting people as well, so if anything I have said resonates with you or there is someone you know I should connect with, please feel free to message me.

Looking forward to being a part of the Steemit community.

Sort:  

Congratulations @metavents, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Welcome to Steemit Joel!

Thanks! I'm liking it so far

Welcome to steemit from @lopezdacruz. All the best in your steemit journey.

Thanks, lopezdacruz! Great to be here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20