You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Roxy Music'

in #music5 years ago

Yeah I remember growing up my uncle was a huge Roxy Music / Bryan Ferry fan. I remember those album covers..... ;-)

And the music of course. I've started to listening to them more and more in the last couple of years, and really appreciating that early stuff. I still quite like Avalon, I think it's that easy-listening vibe which I like.

I'm going to go so far as to say they are the grandfathers of New Wave.... what do you think? They were certainly doing it a good decade before everyone else caught up.

Sort:  

Some of the New Wave / No Romantics theme was a kind of overspill from the Glam rock period I suppose, in terms of looks but not music.

The easy listening stuff, I wasn't too bothered about. I'm too much into my guitars I guess.

The guitar in Avalon is sublime ;-)
But yes I know what you mean....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63986.43
ETH 2745.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66