Blast From The Past - Old-Skool Uptempo Elektro-Booty DJ-Set

in #music8 years ago (edited)

Ahhh the nineties ... The elektro and techno scene exploded in Western Europe, and Belgium was no exception to this. I went to my first 'I love Techno' event in '98 or '99, it's all a bit blurry...

It was at the same time that my musical preference switched to electronic music, coming from a love for metal, rock, and hip-hop in my earlier years. I bought my first record player at the age of 14, and my first 'real' deck at 16. A proper Technics SL-1200. That was the start of a 12-year journey through sound and music. My main genre as a dj was elektro, breakcore, jungle, acid, and gettotech. I was known as the 808-guy.

All of this music was made by analog electronic instruments. I owned an original Roland TR-808 myself. And until today there is still a huge scene for it. The most famous being the Roland TR-909 and TB-303 (The Original Acid Machine!).

Here's a mixtape I made somewhere around 2004 I think. But I can't be sure, let's just say it's from a long time ago. I couldn't remember all the songs that are in there, and my record collection did not move with me to South-East Asia. So diving into the vinyl is no option either. If anyone knows any of the songs that are missing, please let me know :)

iLLektro Mix by tHormenta (somewhere between 2002-2005)

Tracklist:

  1. Something by Dj Assault or Dj Godfather, couldn't find it because too obscure!
  2. Drexciya - Bubble Metropolis (Underground Resistance UR-026) DISCOGS LINK
  3. D.J. Godfather Put That Thang On Me (Databass DB022) DISCOGS LINK
  4. D.J. Godfather ‎– Pump (Twilight 76 TL-003) DISCOGS LINK
  5. Definitely Databass or Electrofunk records song by Assault or one of his consorts.
  6. Model 600 - Update (Metroplex M-015) DISCOGS LINK
  7. Rude 66 - My 909 (BUNKER 3021) DISCOGS LINK
  8. Plasma co. - Fluorescent Light (Listen To The...) DISCOGS LINK
  9. Erotek - I Shall Tek Thee (Metroplex M-031) DISCOGS LINK
  10. Completely blanked out on this one. Someone try shazam it? Might be worth a shot.
  11. I think it's an obscure Drexcya song, but I could be wrong. My memory fails me on this one!
  12. Cybotron - Alleys of your mind (Deep space records) DISCOGS LINK
  13. Coon Daddy & D.J. Godfather - Get yo git on(remix) (Database DB011) DISCOG LINK
  14. Dj Funk - Doggy Style (Funk records DJ 002) DISCOGS LINK
  15. XTC - Video killed the radio star (You don't need a discogs link for this 80's hit!)
  16. Steve Poindexter ‎– Work That Mutha Fucker (Musique MR-001) DISCOGS LINK

Let me know what you think, I'm in the process of acquiring all my old mixtapes from my friends hard drives. I'll be uploading some more soon.

Peace out my brothers!

Sort:  

I think.....

No wonder it's easy to get along with him.....

You say that now, wait until you hear my profoundly disturbing experimental breakcore mixtapes :D

Love it man wicked memories...I was partying in Hong Kong around that time, amazing how life changes over time.

Yep, could never have imagined myself where I'm at now at that age. Had some good fun though :)

Yeah , more music on steemit ! Finally !

Roland TR-808's were made popular by Nick Rhodes of Duran Duran, and he still uses one on occasion to this day. They are wonderful synths, you are so lucky to have had one.

Actually, they became mainstream with the emergence of hiphop in the 80's. Duran Duran was just a wannabe , j/k :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66