You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why It’s Hard to Finish a Song

in #music7 years ago

Hey! This is so true, I have carried around songs for years without being able to finish them, either because I don't feel inspired or it is not "good enough". I keep waiting for "something to happen", for a magical day where I will wake up and know exactly how the song is going to end.
There are other times though, where I get this crazy moments where I can write an entire song in an hour. I don't know how this works, but it's beautiful to see it happen. I think that those moments had something to do with feeling absolutely free, with accepting the way my fingers want to move and never judge it as wrong. I feel like a child, like there is no limits and no wrong key to press anymore. It is a game, and it is not important to know how is going to end, it just will, and I am enjoying the process.
And you are right, coordinating all that involves putting a song out in the world is crazy...but the good part is that the more we do it the better we get at it, and as we get into the music world we start to build communities and make friends who can help in this process.
I love being a composer and create something from nothing. We artists get rewarded in a way that no one else does. It is those chills I get when I hear a beautiful composition, or when I am performing or composing.
All the best for you!

Sort:  

When you can write a song in an hour, you know it is the good stuff :-D. Me and my friends used to do a songwriting club called "One Hour Songs" where one of us would pick a theme, and then at exactly the start of the hour the theme is revealed and everybody (at their homes) writes a song on the theme in one hour and uploads it.

It's crazy!!

Sounds like The Openmic Songwriters Challenge without the one hour limitation :D...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42