More Than Cool Like Dat: Digable Planets

in #music7 years ago

Every person has probably used the phrase Cool Like Dat to describe their corny ass self. I know I did in elementary school. Enter the group Digable Planets, the group who coined the phrase in song. The Brooklyn tripod is comprised of MCs Ishmael "Butterfly" Butler, Mary Ann "Ladybug Mecca" Vieira, and Craig "Doodlebug" Irving. They all met in Philadelphia and began collaborating in the late 80's/early 90's. They only made two albums together, 1993's Reachin' (A New Refutation of Time and Space), and 1994's Blowout Comb. Their first album went gold thanks to the Grammy-Winning smash "Cool Like Dat", while their second album was darker with a political message, and people didn't know how to react.


(From Left)Doodlebug, Butterfly, Ladybug
Source

They were a part of the jazz hip hop wave of the early 90s that merged chill hip hop beats with slick, tasteful jazz sampling. I was just starting my musical journey when I first heard them, and their amazing instrumentals opened my eyes to the possibility of fusing something old with new. I started seeking out artists whose talent could stretch beyond one genre, who could successfully forge sonic elements that you wouldn't expect to mesh well. Remember that time Aphex Twin laid a fucking chair on top of a beat?

Aside from the genius of Aphex Twin, listening to Digable Planets led me to other versatile, multi-genre producers such as Nujabes, J Dilla, Mark Farina, Andrea Fiorino, Jazzanova, and even their contemporaries A Tribe Called Quest, Pete Rock & CL Smooth, and The Pharcyde.


Source

In all honestly, I think Digable Planets were decent lyrically, but it's the groups instrumentals, flow, and the sound of their voice that I really fell in love with (especially Ladybug on "Jettin'"). Listening to them is like a cool breeze, I love being on their wavelength. If you're a fan of modern artists like BadBadNotGood, Kamasi Washington, Flying Lotus, Thundercat and his amazing contribution to Kendrick Lamar's "To Pimp A Butterfly" then I'm certain you'll be a fan of Digable. Below you'll find my personal favorites by them, their albums are worth a full look if you dig these!


Digable Planets - Jettin'


Digable Planets - Jimmi Diggin' Cats


Digable Planets - Where I'm From


Digable Planets - Dog It


Digable Planets - Black Ego


Digable Planets - Time & Space

Sort:  

For real! Everybody needs to know about them if they already don't

Right? Jettin' was actually the first song I heard by them then I realized they were the group who did Cool Like Dat.

haha been a while since I listened to these dudes, almost forgot about them, now i'm going down the rabbit hole, thanks :)

Oh that's great, revisit them! Glad you're going back down I'll see you there

Love me some Digable Planets, Black Ego is classic. Excellent post bro!

Hell yes dude their second album is totally underrated

It is the only one I have heard honestly, they jam this at my local dispensary all the time haha!

Ahahaha dude that's amazing. Shit is A1 ganja music

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50