Music Theory made EASY!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I've made my living playing music the last almost 40 years, mostly playing bass and singing. Although the past several years I've been playing more guitar and keys, and I actually have a few drum gigs on the calendar right now.

So today I wanted to act on the thought I had earlier to give the community an easy, big bang for the buck, explanation in to this thing called "music theory", which is basically the equation of what we've observed. This is half of the equation, but one that YOU'LL REMEMBER and that will shed a lot of light.

So for all you acoustic guitar players out there and anyone else that has ten minutes this should be a win!

so for an easy recap

chords are made of chord tones
only difference between major and minor ... 3rd chord tone of chord is a step and a half from 1 instead of two

framework is
major, chords 1,4,5
minor chords 2,3,6

formula is remembered from piano (2 black keys, skip, then 3}
whole step, whole step, half, whole, whole, whole, half
also the formula for the major scale to which others are built from

I hope this helps. Please upvote, comment, let me know what you'd like as a follow up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62714.40
ETH 3447.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51