“The Sound of Silence,” covered by Gregorian … (Rock-Pop / Gregorian Chant – Music to Your Ears, Covers–2)

in #music5 years ago

This vocal-centric performance turns the moody and pensive original into a heavenly song.

Gregorian – “The Sound of Silence”

“The Sound of Silence” (2013 – original from 1964)

This otherworldly interpretation of the classic Simon & Garfunkel tune takes the song into a whole new dimension. While the group Gregorian originally covered this song on their 1999 album “Masters of Chant,”  this live rendition is from their 2013 tour.   

The 1964 original is a moody and pensive song, well-suited to a vocal-centric performance such as this one. One YouTube commenter stated that “The singing and harmonizing [are] excellent.”  And as another characterized it so succinctly, the rhythmic chanting is “Heavenly.” 

Gregorian

Led by the producer Frank Peterson, the German band Gregorian performs rock and pop songs in the style of Gregorian chants. Although there is some musical backing, the focus of most of Gregorian’s music is on the vocals.    

While the music is recorded in a studio, the vocals are recorded subsequently and separately, in a church setting “with dimmed lights and candles.”  That is done in order to create a warmer atmosphere than that of a studio.    (Image source)
Note – Some listeners have noted that the tempo of this version is a bit fast. If you think so too, you can click on “Settings”  and change the “Playback Speed”  to 0.75.  

Hello, darkness, my old friend
I've come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left its seeds while I was sleeping
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence

In restless dreams I walked alone
Narrow streets of cobblestone
'Neath the halo of a streetlamp
I turned my collar to the cold and damp
When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light
That split the night
And touched the sound of silence

And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more
People talking without speaking
People hearing without listening
People writing songs that voices never share
No one dared
Disturb the sound of silence

"Fools," said I, "You do not know
Silence like a cancer grows
Hear my words that I might teach you
Take my arms that I might reach you."
But my words like silent raindrops fell
And echoed in the wells of silence

And the people bowed and prayed
To the neon god they made
And the sign flashed out its warning
In the words that it was forming
And the sign said, "The words of the prophets
Are written on the subway walls
And tenement halls
And whispered in the sounds of silence."   (Image source)

        Simon and Garfunkel – Sound of Silence   
          (Right-click to hear on YouTube)


Lyrics by Paul Simon, courtesy of – AZLyrics.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  

Sort:  

Hi! This sound great! I love the depth and the tuning of their voices.
Thanks for sharing!

Right, it's a wonderfully unique version of a great song.

hello friends, in my opinion with respect to this version, I want to say that it did not really surprise me at all, simply the vocal group to Gregorian choirs, it's simple and the musical accompaniment is simply pop music, very common in our times, to fill and make it more novel, at the beginning of the song you hear only one voice, when in reality the beauty of this song is in the union of the two voices, it seems very adapted to the original, in the sense of rhythm and time of the song, I've always heard this song and this version does not seem so wonderful, I think it's more musical marketing by the Gregorian artist and his clothes, which musically is not, thanks friends.

I think the simple vocal, even the solo vocals, make it a wonderful and beautiful version. Maybe it's not an improvement on the wonderful original, but in itself, a magnificent version nevertheless.

Hello my friend @majes.tytyty, although it is true that this letter has made many versions with other music, but with this quality of voices I had never heard it.

I really liked this installment of "Music to Your Ears"

Thank you.

It's a very interesting and effective version of a true classic. Glad you enjoyed it.

When I hear this, for some reason I have the mental image of walking along the Mediterranean, with desolate beauty... yet seems somehow nostalgic. As if great emotional attachment to the place exists and is reflected in their song.

Cool. It's great that it affected you in that way. I hope you enjoy the forthcoming posts to the same extent.

This song sounds like a hymn, perhaps it is one. Over all, it is a great song. The uniqueness of the vocals is something else not to talk about the excellent delivery. Thanks for sharing.

It's a major, classic tune by Simon & Garfunkel. This vocal group of "monks" made this unique version, which is almost as beautiful as the original.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72