“The Rocky Road to Dublin,” covered by The Rolling Stones & The Chieftains … (Celtic / Fold / Ballad – Music to Your Ears, Covers–18)

in #music5 years ago

There’s another path – a not-so-rocky road, back to the comfort and safety of home.

The Rolling Stones / The Chieftains – “The Rocky Road to Dublin”

“The Rocky Road to Dublin” (1995 – Dubliners' version from 1964) 

In this traditional song from the 19th century, an Irish man relates the story of his journey from his hometown to the far-off shore of Liverpool, England. He is off to seek his fortune. Instead, he meets misfortune. The poor migrant is mocked, robbed, and scorned.  

The Smooth Road Back Home

When the locals at his destination taunt him and call him a fool, he flies into a rage, and confronts them. His only relief comes when some of his Irish compatriots rush to his rescue, and “clear the way,”  possibly for his return, on a not-so-rocky road, back to the safety, comfort, and security of his homeland.   

The lyrics were written by D. K. Gavan, who was known as "The Galway Poet."  It was first popularized by Harry Clifton, and subsequently by The Dubliners.

The Rolling Stones

The Rolling Stones are a British rock’n’roll band, which has been active for close to 6 decades.    

For the past 5 decades or more, they have been known as “The Greatest Rock’n’Roll Band in the World.”  Nuff said.   (Image source)

The Chieftains

For the past 5 decades or more, The Chieftains have been one of the pre-eminent Irish bands, and definitely one of the most popular. To a great extent, it was The Chieftains that brought Celtic music out to the world.  

It’s safe to say that they are “The Greatest Celtic Music Band in the World.”  Nuff said.   (Image source)

While in the merry month of May, from me home I started
Left the girls of Tuam so sad and broken hearted
Saluted father dear, kissed me darling mother
Drank a pint of beer, me grief and tears to smother

Then off to reap the corn, leave where I was born
Cut a stout black thorn to banish ghosts and goblins
Bought a pair of brogues rattling o'er the bogs
And fright'ning all the dogs on the rocky road to Dublin

One, two, three, four, five,
Hunt the Hare and turn her down the rocky road
All the way to Dublin, whack follol de rah

In Mullingar that night I rested limbs so weary
Started by daylight next morning blithe and early
Took a drop of pure to keep me heart from sinking
That's a Paddy's cure whenever he's on drinking

See the lassies smile, laughing all the while
At me curious style, 'twould set your heart a bubblin'
Asked me was I hired, wages I required
I was almost tired of the rocky road to Dublin

One, two, three, four, five
Hunt the Hare and turn her down the rocky road
All the way to Dublin, whack follol de rah

In Dublin next arrived, I thought it such a pity
To be soon deprived a view of that fine city
So then I took a stroll, all among the quality
Me bundle it was stole, all in a neat locality

Something crossed me mind, when I looked behind
No bundle could I find upon me stick a wobblin'
Inquiring for the rogue, they said me Connaught brogue
Wasn't much in vogue on the rocky road to Dublin

One, two, three, four, five
Hunt the Hare and turn her down the rocky road
All the way to Dublin, whack follol de rah

From there I got away, me spirits never falling
Landed on the quay, just as the ship was sailing
The Captain at me roared, said that no room had he
When I jumped aboard, a cabin found for Paddy

Down among the pigs, played some hearty rigs
Danced some hearty jigs, the water round me bubbling
When off Holyhead, I wished meself was dead
Or better for instead on the rocky road to Dublin

One, two, three, four, five
Hunt the Hare and turn her down the rocky road
All the way to Dublin, whack follol de rah Well, the boys of Liverpool, when we safely landed
Called meself a fool, I could no longer stand it
Blood began to boil, temper I was losing
Poor old Erin's Isle they began abusing

"Hurrah me soul" says I, me Shillelagh I let fly
Some Galway boys were nigh and saw I was a hobble in
With a load "Hurray" joined in the affray
We quietly cleared the way for the rocky road to Dublin

One, two, three, four, five
Hunt the Hare and turn her down the rocky road
And all the way to Dublin, whack follol de rah
  (Image source)

        The Dubliners – “The Rocky Road to Dublin”    
          (Right-click to hear on YouTube)

br>Lyrics (by D.K. Gavan, (The Dubliiners’ version courtesy of – Genius.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  
Sort:  
Loading...

Every time I hear this song, I remember the famous poem by the Greek writer Constantine Cavafys: Ithaca. The journey is the most important, the obstacles that present themselves in the way and that will make you stronger. When you arrive in Ithaca, at your final destination, the important thing will be what you have lived, what you did to be there. Thank you for sharing.

Glad you enjoyed it, and glad it jogged a few memories of other great music. Cheers!

You received a 10.00% complementary upvote from @swiftcash 🤑
To stop similar upvotes from @swiftcash, reply STOP.

What's kind of music is this? Looks lovely..

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice songs.... very good choice...
Best band ever rolling stones

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56800.55
ETH 2331.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34