You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “Imagine,” covered by David Bowie … (Rock / Pop – Music to Your Ears, Covers–1)

in #music5 years ago

Thanks for your comment, Juan.

I'm planning to post 5 MTYEars posts every week. I hope you can find time to look at them occasionally, If not, don't worry, they'll always be here!!

The category "COVERS" will be a very common one. I have hundreds of covers bookmarked, and I continually find more great ones that I would like to include in this series.

And for sure, a number of them are covers of Marley's song. Are you talking about a particular song of his, or a cover of one of his songs? I'm not sure which one you're referring to.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy the series. (It will run for a year or 2, at least.)

Sort:  

Friend: I love this series, it fascinates me.

The song that I'm referring to is: "I shot the sheriff" originally from Marley in 1973 and was covered by Clapton in '74. It was his only # 1 on the Hot 100, either with a band or solo. He approached in 1992 with "Tears In Heaven", which reached number 2.

Clapton spoke with Marley to request authorization to record the song.

Aaaah, yes. Of course, I remember hearing Clapton's version way back then, even before I ever heard Marley's original. Clapton's version was a pop hit in 1974, but it pales in comparison to the great original. Of course!!!!

Thanks for your input. I'm gonna add a bookmark to that song, as it will make a great addition to the COVERS series.

Cheers!!

I appreciate you my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55