“Lebanese Blonde,” by Thievery Corporation … (Chill-out Lounge / Outernational / Trip-Hop – Music to Your Ears–20)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

They shared musical interests that were eclectic and international – or, maybe, “outernational.”

Thievery Corporation – “Lebanese Blonde”

“Lebanese Blonde” (1997)

There are several versions of this dreamy, mystic piece. The original single version was released in 1997, and later included on the 2000 album “The Mirror Conspiracy.”

In 1998, a French maxi-single included an instrumental version. There’s also an excellent live version recorded for the “Morning Becomes Eclectic”  show on Los Angeles-based public radio station KCRW. 

Half a Million Thoughts

As clearly indicated by both the title and the lyrics, the song is about the potent form of hashish from Lebanon. As might happen under the influence, the mind is besieged by “half a million thoughts”  – which may be a good thing but which may also have its drawbacks.

Nevertheless, while the mind may be swirling with thoughts, just a taste of love or a kiss on the lips, and “all my thoughts are clear.”   (Image source)

Thievery Corporation

Rob Garza and Eric Hilton formed Thievery Corporation in Washington DC in 1995, after they realized that they shared musical interests that were eclectic and international – or, as they might say, “outernational.”

While remaining a duo, the band invites various guest singers and musicians to participate in their blissfully sedated form of ambient dub.  

The World is Burning

Unlike most voices from Washington, Garza and Hilton dare to speak out against war, torture, hunger, neo-liberal economics, ecological devastation, and more hideous crazes of these dark times. As Garza said, “It's hard to close your eyes and sleep while the world is burning around you. … There’s no excuse for not speaking out.”   (Image source)

Too low to find my way
Too high to wonder why
I've touched this place before
Somewhere in another time
Now I can hear the sun
The clouds drifting through the blinds
A half a million thoughts
Are flowing through my mind

A satellite recalled your voice
Sent me round the world again
All the night you've dreamt away
Sent me round my heart again
One touch upon my lips
And all my thoughts are clear
I feel your smoky mist
Up to the stratosphere

Too low to find my way
Too high to wonder why
I've touched this place before
Somewhere in another time
Now I can hear the sun
The clouds drifting through the blinds
A half a million thoughts
Are flowing through my mind

Too low to find my way
Too high to wonder why
I've touched this place before
Somewhere in another time
Now I can hear the sun
  (Image source)
Lyrics by Richard Hilton / Roberto Garza, courtesy of – SongMeanings.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – SongMeanings.com
Reference – GigWise.com
Reference – Scaruffi.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – DisCogs.com

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  
Sort:  

I miss old school lebanese hash
Dont hear much from Thievery corporation these days, early 2000's they were awesome

great song. i remember it from the Garden State soundtrack.

An old classic for sure, the good ol days

Posted using Partiko Android

90s!

Posted using Partiko Android

The classics always have a big space in my heart. They are legit!

This post has received a 10.00% complementary upvote from @swiftcash 🤑

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67