“Disco//Very” and “Keep It Healthy,” by Warpaint … (Neo-Psychedelia / Dream Pop – Music to Your Ears–16)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

The music is slow-burning and blissfully unobtrusive – drifting along comfortably and calmly.

Warpaint – “Disco//Very” and “Keep It Healthy”

Disco//Very” and “Keep It Healthy (2014)

This video comprises 2 songs from Warpaint’s second album, whose music was described by band member Emily Kokal as “more than standard rock.” 

Slow Burn

Ironically, that “more”  comes from less. In 2013, guitarist / vocalist Theresa Wayman had stated that the band intended to craft more minimalistic music on their second album. The results have been called “sparse, windy,”  “languorous”  and “catatonic.”  And several critics have described this music as “slow-burning.” 

DiscoVery of Bliss

The track “Disco//Very”  is one of the more up-tempo tracks on the album. But even this track is blissfully unobtrusive, “drifting along comfortably and calmly”  – (as Luke Lewis put it). 

Warpaint

Formed in 2004 in Los Angeles, Warpaint released their debut EP in 2008. It garnered both popular notice and critical acclaim. Soon thereafter, the band signed with Rough Trade records and toured throughout the US and Europe – including an opening gig for the British dream-pop band The xx.   

One of the best descriptions of Warpaint’s music came from the British magazine New Musical Express, which described their sound as “expansive”  and “lushly harmonic.”   (Image source)

I've got a friend with a melody that will kill
She'll eat you alive
Like cyanide ... it's poison
She'll eat you alive

Don't you battle, we'll kill you
We'll rip you up and tear you in two
   [3x]

Only in the sound of the voices I scream

I heard my name, Now I'm gone
Tell me what I did
You saw me standing on my lone mountain,
Dare me play, Not to put it off
The tears are not worth the wait
Your loveliness, Is so worth it (so worth it)
You're another one, In a long, long time,
Wrestling people for peace
    [2x]

Only in the sound of the voices I scream
Only in the sound of your voice did I scream
Only in the sound of the voices I scream
I make room for everyone
    [2x]
I need to take a break!

Do you wanna look in my mind
Open up and see what you find
Holdin’ on to just what I wanted

It was just behind the door
Well, I was not looking out, For nothing anymore
But oh, look what I found, I was always talkin’ too much

But only in the sound of my voice did I reach out
Only in the sound of the voice did I scream
    [2x]   (Image source)
Lyrics by Warpaint, courtesy of – AZLyrics.com
Reference – TheEssential.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – PitchFork.com
Reference – Metro.co.UK

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  
Sort:  

It's the first time I listen to their music. Wow! It's incredible.

It's the first time I
Listen to their music. Wow!
It's incredible.

                 - juliogonzalez123


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I first read about them in a short magazine artilce. I checked them out on YouTube, and went, "WOW."

GOOD WORK!!

excellent...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43