“Bob,” by Weird Al Yankovic … (Comedy / Parody – Music to Your Ears, Mock’n’Roll–4)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Many musicians take it as a point of pride to be parodied by Weird Al.

Weird Al Yankovic – “Bob”

“Bob” (2003)

In this parody of Bob Dylan’s “Subterranean Homesick Blues,”   Weird Al took a classic video, copied its basic features, added his own brilliant word-play, and created a new classic. 

UFO Tofu

In Weird Al's song, each phrase is a palindrome – meaning that the phrase reads the same when read forwards or backwards. Some of the palindromes are standard and rather simple – “Madam, I’m Adam”  – but some are brilliant and seemingly cryptic and profound – such as “Do geese see god”  and “We panic in a pew.”   

One trivial point of interest. The title “Bob,”  clearly a reference to Bob Dylan, is itself a palindrome. Wow.

Weird Al Yankovic

Weird Al (real name, Alfred Matthew Yankovic) is an American musician, comedian, and parodist. He has been doing parodies of other musicians since 1976. Many musicians take it as a point of pride to be parodied by Weird Al, and he can count Paul McCartney, Jimmy Page, and Dave Grohl among his fans. 

Fun for All Ages

His spoofing of pop culture gives him wide appeal. He has stated that his audience “ranges from toddlers to geriatrics.”   He has sold over 12 million albums, won 5 Grammy awards, and been nominated for another 11 Grammys. In the US, 4 of his records have gone gold, and 6 have gone platinum.        (Image source)

As for his concerts, he has characterized them as "a rock and comedy multimedia extravaganza."

I, man, am regal - a German am I
Never odd or even
If I had a hi-fi
Madam, I'm Adam
Too hot to hoot
No lemons, no melon
Too bad I hid a boot
Lisa Bonet ate no basil
Warsaw was raw
Was it a car or a cat I saw?

Rise to vote, sir
Do geese see god?
"Do nine men interpret?" "Nine men," I nod
Rats live on no evil star
Won't lovers revolt now?
Race fast, safe car
Pa's a sap
Ma is as selfless as I am
May a moody baby doom a yam?

Ah, Satan sees Natasha
No devil lived on
Lonely Tylenol
Not a banana baton
No "x" in "Nixon"
O, stone, be not so
O Geronimo, no minor ego
"Naomi," I moan
"A Toyota's a Toyota"
A dog, a panic in a pagoda

Oh no! Don Ho!
Nurse, I spy gypsies – run!
Senile felines
Now I see bees I won
UFO tofu
We panic in a pew
Oozy rat in a sanitary zoo
God! A red nugget! A fat egg under a dog!
Go hang a salami, I'm a lasagna hog
   (Image source)

        Bob Dylan – “Subterranean Homesick Blues”    
          (Right-click to hear on YouTube)
Lyrics by Weird Al Yankovic, courtesy of – AZLyrics.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  

Sort:  

Hi @majes.tytyty

Thank you for the explanation again learning new subjects I like the way he uses palindrome. Sounds a little irreverent with a lot of sarcasm

I like this phrase very much, I think I can identify with it.

Ma is as selfless as I am

Happy weekend greetings

Yep, it's definitely not meant to be taken too seriously!
Enjoy your weekend, too!

It's Saturday eve. Time for a beer!!

Excelente trabajo en referencia al tema de la parodia, me acorde de un articulo que hacen referencia
a la parodia, en la parte del deporte, Van Gaal el cual, fue conocido por la gran cantidad de parodias y chistes
que le han hecho sobre su mítico: tú siempre negativo, nunca negativo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66794.56
ETH 3501.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71