“Because I Got High," Positive Remix, by Afroman … (Comedy Hip-Hop – Music to Your Ears, Mock’n’Roll–16)

in #music5 years ago

Society subjected itself to decades of reefer madness, for no reason whatsoever.

Afroman – “Because I Got High,” Positive Remix

Because I Got High, Positive Remix  (2014 / 2000)

This song is a positive and humorous revision of Afroman’s original from 2000, “Because I Got High”  – which took a rather negative look at the subject. In fact, Afroman created this new version in support of efforts to legalize marijuana across the US. 

High Time For a Change

Whereas the 2000 original told us how the man’s life was falling apart, apparently because he got high, this positive version relates how, ironically, the man now “care(s) about everything.” 

Not only that, everything is getting better with marijuana. Weed alleviated his medical condition; he stopped smoking cigarettes; he’s stopped drinking booze and taking dodgy prescription drugs; and he’s now free of both hangovers and anxiety attacks.

Reefer Madness, Reefer Goodness 

Moreover, he’s become a “productive”   member of society. With all the tax revenue that the government rakes in from his excessive expenditure on weed, it can build a few schools.   

Strange. Just a few decades ago, marijuana ruined the lives of those who smoked it. Now, it’s not only improving their lives, but also benefiting society as a whole. Just think … our society subjected itself to long decades of reefer madness, for no reason whatsoever.   (Image source)

Afroman

Afroman is a US rapper (real name, Joseph Edgar Foreman).  

Striking Back

He began his career while still a young school student. After his teacher expelled him for wearing drooping pants, he composed a song about her. The song became a hit of sorts, selling over 400 copies in his community.

Solo and So Independent

In 2002, the original “Because I Hot High”  was nominated for a Grammy award as the “Best Rap Solo Performance.”

Since 2004, Afroman has been releasing his music indepently of any labels, relying primarily on distribution through or over the internet.   (Image source)

Ironically... I care about everything
Check it out, playboys

I had problems with glaucoma, but then I got high
Smelled the cannabis aroma, and I got high
Glaucoma getting better and I know why
Because I got high, because I got high, because I got high

I used to smoke cigarettes, but then I got high
Getting tired and call it quits, but then I got high
I'm playing basketball and jogging and I know why
Because I got high, because I got high, because I got high

I used to drink beer and wine, but then I got high
I woke up feeling fine, because I got high
My hangover's over and I know why
Because I got high, because I got high, because I got high

Anxiety attacks, but then I got high
I used to take Xanax, but then I got high
No more prescription pills and I know why
Because I got high, because I got high, because I got high

The state made revenue, because I got high
They built a school or two, because I got high
Now the state can fund drug treatment and I know why
Because I got high, because I got high, because I got high

No more criminal traps if it's legalized
I don't have to buy from gang bangers shooting craps, if it's legalized
I can advocate with Weedmaps and I know why
It's legalized, it's legalized, it's legalized

        “Afroman” – Because I Got High   
          (Right-click to hear on YouTube)
Lyrics by Afroman (Joseph Edgar Foreman), courtesy of – Lyrics.Fandom.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – RollingStone.com

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62799.08
ETH 3027.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95