“Baby, Please Don’t Go,” by Muddy Waters / Rolling Stones … (Blues – Music to Your Ears–18)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

The Stones were invited by Muddy to join him. The results sing for themselves.

Muddy Waters / Rolling Stones – “Baby, Please Don’t Go”

“Baby, Please Don’t Go” (1981)

Reputed to be “one of the most played, arranged, and rearranged pieces in blues history"  (according to French music historian Gérard Herzhaft), “Baby, Please Don’t Go”  is a traditional folk song whose origins are lost in the mists of time.  

Shades of Blues

Over the years, it has been performed by Delta blues musicians, Chicago blues musicians, rhythm and blues musicians, British garage rock musicians, and more.    

The first recording of “Baby, Please Don’t Go”   was made in 1935 by Big Joe Williams, who claimed that it had been written by his wife, the singer Bessie Mae Smith. Apparently, there’s no evidence to support that claim.

Regardless of its origins, the song is now a blues standard. It has been covered by everyone from Lightnin’ Hopkins to John Lee Hooker, from Aerosmith and AC/DC to the greatest rock’n’roll band in the world.   

“Baby, Please Don’t Go”  has been inducted into both the Blues Hall of Fame and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Not bad, for a little song from the rural backwaters.

Muddy Waters / Rolling Stones

While passing through Chicago on their 1981 US tour, The Rolling Stones dropped in at the renowned Checkerboard Lounge, where Muddy Waters happened to be playing.   

The Stones had been heavily influenced by Muddy and other Chicago blues musicians – even taking their name from a 1950s Muddy song. And conversely, much of Muddy’s fame came as a result of the popularity of the Stones.   

Being famous rock stars, the Stones were seated front and center in the small lounge. Being friends of the legendary Muddy, a few of the Stones were invited to join him on stage.    

The results sing for themselves.   (Image source)

Baby please don't go [3 x]
  Down to New Orleans
  You know I love you so

  Before I be your dog [3 x]
  I get you way'd out here
  And I let you walk alone

  Turn your lamp down low [3 x]
  And I beg you all night long
  Baby please don't go

You brought me way down here [3 x]
  'Bout to Rolling Forks, you treat me like a dog

 
Baby please don't go [3 x]
Back to New Orleans
I beg you all night long

Before I be your dog [3 x]
I get you way'd out here
And I let you walk alone

You know your man down gone [3 x]
To the country farm, with all the shackles on
  (Image source)
Lyrics by Traditional / Muddy Waters, courtesy of – Mojim.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Interactive.wtts.com

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  

Sort:  

Congratulations @majes.tytyty! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 10.00% complementary upvote from @swiftcash 🤑

This was a nice break :) Just checking on you to see if you know about the palnet airdrop @majes.tytyty. I know you are not always reading posts here.

Right, I tend not to read too many posts, even here on Steemit. Of course, if you ever want me to see something you can send me a note in my wallet, with 0.001 Steem. (But there are times when I don't read all the notes that come thru my wallet, too.

What is that airdrop? Helicopter money, from the Fed? Oh, no, that's not coming for a few more years, when hyperinflation is expected to hit. :-)

Haha!

It's this thing:

https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@minnowsupport/how-to-palnet-io-and-palcoin-with-keychain-and-steem-engine-com

Basically, some of our bigwigs made a new steem platform and gave us all some money to get started on it. I got tiny money on all 3 blogs and powered it up over there - called staking. Now I get a bit more PAL on some of my posts just by using the tag. If you stake yours, your steem votes would give me - and anyone else - more pal.

No matter what, you should at least claim the airdrop, @majes.tytyty. You can sell if for steem and then ignore if you want.

Oh, I got that. A few days ago, @gandhibaba helped me thru the process, and we finally managed to claim mine. Just now, I checked and noticed a tab saying "stake". But I don't know that it means to "stake." Any advice on that? If not, I'll ask gandhibb.

It seems like the bull market has started ... in Bitcoin and other reputable cryptos, as well as in gold and silver. They are all trending upwards, and the way the global economy, fiat currencies are doomed. It might take a few years for major changes to take full effect, but those changes are already underway.

Let's hope we can all make some healthy profits from our diligence on this platform!!

As for life in Thailand, the situation is looking grim for many foreigners. Now that General Prayuut has "won" (read "stole) the election, he and his cohort are clamping down on all the retirees who bring in tons of money each year. The next time these guys apply for a visa, they'll have to have a Thai bank account with 800,000 B in it, and have both inpatient and outpatient health insurance with extensive coverage. Many retirees I know will not be able to afford it, and will leave this country when their current visa expires.

It's such a stupid and senseless move by the govt. Of course, the leaders will not be affected in any way, but many of the local shops whose clientele is 50%–90% foreigners will feel a definite pinch after all the foreigners leave over the coming 10 months or so. Many of them will see their incomes decline precipitously, and more than a few will probably have to close up shop.

I'll probably stay here in CM until my visa expires next April. Then ... I'l find another fine spot in SE Asia.

Staking is powering up, just like in steem. You just have to decide it you want to do that. I did, but my "stake" is less that 300 pal, so who cares?

So if you stake, your stake will give pal to people like me who:

  • you vote on steem
  • I tag my posts with palnet

You basically do nothing but will get another stream of curation income.

I've been seeing some fb posts about border crossings that are really bad. Thailand is really cracking down in all regards, I guess. People get pulled out of line who never have been before. I think this is in an effort to kill the world economy in general.

So far it has been smooth sailing for me in and out of Malaysia. I go again in Aug to Singapore and then to Thailand for Steemfest. I hope for only good news.

I'll look into "staking."
And I might see you at Steemfest in a few months. Will see ...

Hi @majes.tytyty

Two great together in a year that marked many musical trends. Greetings, happy friend, start of the week.

Wow! a very nice music I would like to dance with this kind of music yeah!

Wow interesting

Posted using Partiko Android

Oirlos cantar es una sensación única.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67