Confessions of a Pedal Junkie

in #music7 years ago

Hi everybody. My name is Jared. I'm new to Steemit and didn't know what to write about. After thinking for a bit, I decided one of my great passions in life is music, so why not tell a little bit of my back story?

I started my journey as a musician when I was 14 years old in 2004. My older brother needed a bass player for his church band and I was awarded the role, with two whole weeks to practice before I was thrown into the frey (on stage). I wasn't huge into music at that point, and I remember having to ask my brother what a bass guitar was. Needless to say, he had his work cut out.

Even though I wasn't naturally inclined to be a musician, I quickly fell in love with it as a form of artistic expression and a therapeutic outlet. Today, 13 years later, I can't go two days without picking up my instrument or I start to lose it. Fellow artists will understand that sentiment. Writers need to write, dancers need to dance, and musicians need to play. In a world that sometimes seems insane, it's nice to know that music theory doesn't change.

While I still consider myself a bass player at the core, I picked up electric guitar 5 years ago and haven't been able to put it back down. Some of the most inspiring music I have found as a guitar player has been post-rock, which is a very "atmospheric", "cinematic" music. I hate using words like that because they're not great descriptors, but if you haven't heard it, just check out Three-Legged Workhorse by This Will Destroy You, or Sigur 6 by Sigur Ros.

All this to say, I have become an effect pedal junky. Nothing is cooler than being able to pluck two notes and having the result be a growley distorted mess that sounds like it floated light years through outer space to find your ears. You just can't make those sounds without effects.

Here's a picture of my pedal board:
IMG_1368.JPG

I'd love to hear your thoughts. I'm pretty happy with the array of different sounds I can get from this guy, but I'm also always on the lookout for new and exciting effect pedals. Tell me what effects or sounds you guys have been inspired by.

I hope this post wasn't too long. Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43