Gearhead #1

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hello/Hola Steemit community!

Yesterday I posted my second entry to Steemit open mic songwriters challenge - week #2
And I thought it would be great if you guys asked me or suggested topics you would like to know about.
@pechichemena suggested that I talk a little about the gear I used to record it and I think it's a great Idea, so here we go!

I usually record using a condenser microphone for my regular job,
I use either my AKG 420 perception:

akg-perception-420-715546.jpg

or my Baumann v67 (which I used for my first entry to record everything in one go):

13165958_783617925106691_6249130278109865025_n.jpg

This time around though, I wanted a better sound and more control over the noise floor so I decided to use my Shure Beta 58A:

shure-beta-58a-498990.jpg

Which is a dynamic microphone, but having it for only my vocals and not the whole thing helped a lot with reducing noise!

The guitar I used was my modified Alvarez RD - 20SC BLK,

IMG_20171205_162748194_HDR_edited.jpg

IMG_20171205_162805461_HDR_edited.jpg

I had the paint on the back of the neck removed so it would feel a lot smoother to play and added a better pickup system, in this case I bought L.R. Baggs Lyric system, and boy am I happy I did!!!

lr-baggs-lyric-acoustic-guitar-pickup-microphone-3.jpg

When plugged in, my guitar sounds like the actual acoustic guitar, just louder.
The Lyric is not a piezo pickup, it's a microphone designed to be inside the guitar with out having feedback problems in a live situation, and it really delivers!

Vocals were recorded through a regular mic cable and guitar was recorded through a regular instrument cable that I built , both going in direct into my audio interface, a Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

88881158657bb2ccd4264d.jpg

I recorded everything using Studio one 2.6 as a DAW (digital audio workstation) and added some reverb using the native effects through an fx send.

PreSonus-Studio-One-Pro.jpg

Lastly I wanna make sure you understand that you don't need all of this equipment to get a good recording. It's much more about knowing how to used the gear you have than the gear itself, all of the equipment I currently have has been acquired through the years (a lot of years!!!) and not in one go.

I hope this information has been useful to you!

Lastly, here's my entry:

P.S.

I'd really love your input on this, what kind of posts would you guys like to see?
This is something I've been wanting to do for a long time and it feels like this is the best way to start!

If you have any questions at all, regarding this gear, other gear, singing technique, vocal lessons, the answer to life, the universe and everything (easy, it's 42 ;-P), let me know and I'll do my best to answer and make a post about it!

Any ways, thank you for reading me, and for your eyeball and ear hole time :D

If you enjoyed, please remember to upvote and comment! and maybe resteem? :-)

Till my next post!

Photo 26 copia.jpg

Sort:  

How is that mic?

Hey!, which one of the three?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @luisferchav to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67130.22
ETH 3466.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73