Brother - Matt Corby (covered by lucybanks)

in #music7 years ago

Hey guys,

Another cover for you tonight as I ended up not being able to post one yesterday (I do apologise to those who follow). It was my Christmas work party last night so I'm hoping my voice will recover by tomorrow night!


(I really like the picture it automated for this video, it makes me look ridiculous haha)

Introducing the wonderful Matt Corby, most definitely a hit with the ladies. Please do have a listen to his music, it really is beautiful because he has such a unique tone to his voice. He's a 100% original. Considering he is only 27, he is another inspirational young musician that I would love to learn a thing or two from and follow in his footsteps. At just 16, he competed in Australian Idol and managed to compete to be runner-up. Funnily enough, I auditioned for UK's X Factor when I was 16...it didn't quite go the same way and I didn't get past the first round.
This won't stop me though :D

Matt-Corby-8.jpg
(http://toomanyblogs.co.uk/2015/12/01/matt-corby-gorilla-manchester-251115/)

My best friend was the one to point him out to me as she rather liked the way he looked, but once I actually started listening to his voice, I was fairly shocked at how mesmerising it was. Various remixes have been made of his songs now, which is good to hear them in a different way. For example, Kygo created an electronic remix of this very song and it is almost as good as the original.


(youtube)

What I like to do with songs that I cover, is to listen to them and then record a cover sometimes even years later. If you do this, you have made it your own because you have drifted further away from the original. I didn't hear this track for about a year and a half before I decided to make this cover so it actually sounds quite different now!

Ooh ooh ooh oh
Ooh ooh ooh
Sleep now under my skin
Make sure you’ll try to
Conjure the wind
And ease my mind
Ooh ooh ooh oh
Ooh ooh ooh
Somebody call out to your brother
He’s calling out your name
Oh oh oh
Hiding under the covers
With no one else to blame
Oh oh oh
You couldn’t help out your own neighbor
You couldn’t tell it to his face
You were fucked up by the blame
You cower in the corner
Confide in your father
Let it out and say
Let it pass away
Sleep now under my skin
Make sure you try to
Conjure the wind
And ease my mind
And I said
Ooh ooh ooh oh
Ooh ooh ooh
Somebody call out to your brother
He’s calling out your name
Oh oh oh
Hiding under the covers
With no one else to blame
Oh oh oh
You couldn’t help out your own neighbor
You couldn’t tell it to his face
You were…

"When asked by a Triple J radio station to describe the meaning behind this song, Corby replied: "It came from a little sort of quarrel I had with a really close friend this year. It's a pretty dark time for me, I think I really just wasn't being myself. Me and one of my really good mates fell out, and it was because of something really stupid I did.""
http://www.songfacts.com/detail.php?id=28009

Please keep sending me in any requests!

X

Sort:  

very beautiful song
and you say so beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56523.53
ETH 2982.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15