Sort:  

Me <- Jealous. For pure technicality they are my favorite band. I still listen to them quite often. Anytime I need to hear raw skill at work they are my go to band.

Do you like Symphony X?

Kind of like asking me "do you like to breathe?" I am a guitarist though I haven't played or practiced in more than a year. I need to, I miss it. When I was at my top skill wise I'd set my vision I learning Set the world on fire as a song to push me into new areas. I think I could pull it off, but I needed a guitar with a decent tremolo/whammy bar to pull of some parts and all I have in the electric guitar department is a beat up B.C. Rich Warlock. That guitar has sentimental attachments for me, so I'll keep it but I do need a nicer electric. I also have a Guild Nylon Classical, a 12 string acoustic, and two 6 string acoustics. Yet I haven't practiced... my fingers are tingling thinking about it. And yes Symphony X was what I was going to push myself with. I think I could perhaps pull off some Symphony X and perhaps some Dream Theater, but there are some DT songs I couldn't touch with a 10 foot pole. Petrucci is just too damn good.

When i was young and niave i thought i could learn michael romeo or petrucci... oh how starry eyed i was!

That is close to the sound of stuff I wrote myself when I make stuff up and do what I call doodling on the guitar. That guy is better than I ever was, but I wasn't too far from that.

You're making me want to practice again... this is a good thing. It would make various members of my family happy.

EDIT: I actually know I could play that with a month of reconditioning my hands. That was well within my capabilities. I really like this guy. He makes up stuff that sounds like what I do. Yet I really don't like the vocalist of Psycroptic. :)

Ooh... you do realize you are opening pandora's box by talking about music with me? I can geek out over music almost non-stop.

Joe Haley put out a new video...

Some stuff he does there is beyond me. He's bad ass.

Romeo... I could likely do some of his stuff... I chose Set The World On Fire as a goal as it was just slightly beyond where I was at the time so I thought it'd push me to get better. Iconoclast that song... that's beyond me. :)

Haha. Im a music nerd too. As ive gotten older, ive branched out a lot. I was way into harder stuff like Meshuggah for a while.

I like hard stuff, I like soft stuff. I like some Messhugah. My main criteria is if it is not Prog Metal/Prog Rock then it needs to sound unique. If it is unique then I like it. The band I do tomorrow I'm pretty sure you'll be familiar with. They are unique, not as technical as DT or Symphony X, but sometimes classified as Prog Metal, sometimes something else. :)

Doing it tomorrow simply because I've already done my 4 posts for today.

Did you check out the Arch/Matheos album Sympathetic Resonance?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59200.90
ETH 2601.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41