Music As Spirituality

in #music7 years ago

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Greetings Steemians

First off let me say that yes I write songs, but writing blogs is new to me so bare with me.

Music is a spiritual experience to me. I crave to have it playing constantly much to the disapproval of some of my loved ones. I love playing it, dancing to it(shitty dancer) especially when I'm stoned. I've come to realize the sacredness of music. All molecules vibrate at certain frequencies, giving them their properties and shape. The proof is in the pudding.

So, us musicians are, in essence, magicians, shamans, or priest if you will of this sonic force that shapes and binds the universe. We can evoke positive and negative emotions. Who knows what other possibilities exist in the sonic magic we wield?

I have played music since I was 17. I just turned 47 so that's 30 years. I have been compelled to do it even when I or someone else thought I should put it down. The reasoning being that I never made enough from it to replace a job or other source of income...

Well, let me tell you, money is not a good reason to play music. If music does not move you in some cosmic way and your only motivation is money, fame, etc. , then you're not meant to be playing music.

So, to sum up my point, musicians are in touch cosmically with the founding force of the universe. It is a legitimate spiritual force that should be respected along with the artist that perform it.

I'd love to hear your feedback, experience, etc.

I hope you enjoy the improvisational instrumental piece I made for this post.

PEACE!

Sort:  

Nothing wrong about thinking music is spiritual and doing what you love. I believe you are describing what Nietzsche calls the Dionysian in his The Birth of Tragedy

enjoyed your improvisation! fully agree to the vibration and molecules part :). having the music to the background of your blog was actually a pleasant experience, thank you for it!

Thank you for reading and listening :)

Enjoyed your tune. I agree with you that through music, we somehow coalesce the experience around us into a new form of communication. Something that gets underneath the waking consciousness, as sound is vibration, vibration is energy and energy is universal. Music communicates the universal.

Thank you, and indeed it does :)

Music is a universal language that all understand and communicates in beautiful ways to the soul. Thanks for sharing your heart and song my friend.

Thank you very much Troy!

fantastic post could not agree more. Love your playing!! Sounds great. what looper do you use?

Thank you very much :)
I use the Ditto X2 by TC Electronics

Keep on working your magic Mr @lk666, I love it :) :)

Thanks Mrs. @lyndsaybowes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56