My AV world

in #music7 years ago

I have a box of possession that has followed me around the world all these years. From UK to Hong Kong, from Hong Kong back to UK, and from UK to Taiwan. In recent years years, I have hardly opened the box, the contents have been sitting patiently inside waiting for their partner. Yesterday was the day. The box was my records, their partner, my latest acquisition below.
P_20180112_225714.jpg

P_20180111_161247.jpg


I haven't listened to my records for a long time, and immediately did a test run with one of my favourites songs, Fast Car by Tracy Chapman. Close your eyes and listen to this clip, can you hear the occasional crackling, the slight imperfection that makes it so perfect. This is something you can't get from a CD or MP3 track. It is so beautiful.

Now with my latest purchase, our AV centre is complete at home. In fact, before yesterday, I didn't actually know why there were so many other boxes lying around, I thought all we needed was a router for the wifi. Now, I have had a walk through on all the bits and pieces, from my my husband aka IT/AV/technical support.

P_20180112_110350.jpg


First of all, this rather stylish guy is the transformer for our amplifier (below). The amplifier was bought in Hong Kong years ago and the voltage is different here so that's why we need a transformer.

P_20180112_110423.jpg

P_20180112_110547.jpg


This spider thingy on the right I know, its the router for our wifi. The white box next to it is MyCloud, a private cloud. This was installed after my old mobile phone broke last year and I couldn't recover any of my important old photos. Now, all my photos from my phone are automatically backed up to our cloud when I come home.
P_20180112_110659.jpg

Next, the white box is a chrome box which enables us to convert the TV to a smart TV, so we can access internet and watch online programs. The black box is the CD rom to play CDs (I still have two box full of them), accessed via the chrome box.
P_20180112_110613.jpg

This old mobile phone is connected to the chrome box to listen to online radio. Apparently we can't listen to some channels directly from the chrome box so have to use the app from the mobile phone.
P_20180112_110707.jpg

This is the box for the cable TV and the all important TV remote control that all the men seem to love.
P_20180112_110454.jpg

Wireless mouse and keyboard to control the TV.
P_20180112_110442.jpg

And finally our speakers, British made as apparently we do some pretty mean ones. An AV centre with crappy speakers is wasted, so always make sure you buy the best you can afford to get the most out of your audio system. These ones does a pretty good job.
P_20180112_110723.jpg

Now I'm going to listen to some more great music.

Sort:  

视频不能播放了。。。

多手加了歌名到視頻,被 youtube blocked 😣

OMG! This is SUCH an AMAZING post! Thank you for sharing! I give you a vote !!

Ah, I understand this world! Although 90% of my records and my turntables are gone, the rest of the wires and components are there. Now add kids and a Playstation4 , Nintendo Switch and a misc. server I'm thinking of running a BTC node on and I'm right there with you.

What saddens me is it's almost 2020 and we still have all these wires about. Where is the future?

You never know, things might change in the next two years!

YES!!! That is exactly what I wanted to write!
And I have to plug and unplug them daily!

嚇死我,以為是那個AV 😜

Love this!! It's funny, my husband and I had the same "box" that we dragged across the country with us for many years. Then a couple of years ago, I bought his (us:) a turntable for his birthday and we loved setting the whole thing up...centerpiece of our living room! That scratchy imperfect sound that comes with an old record...music to my ears!! Cheers!

I really love that occasional crackling sound, I think it just makes it so 'music' if you know what I mean

I know EXACTLY what you mean:)

So good you still have the turntable. I have a few rare records I can't throw away, but also I can't play them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52