COVER - Caramba (venezuelan song)

in #music6 years ago


Hello, everyone!


This time @maerod and I bring you a cover of a song that I love by one of the Venezuelan musicians that I admire the most. His name is Otilio Galíndez.

Otilio Galíndez was a Venezuelan poet, songwriter and musician born in 1935 and known for composing popular christmas songs (called "Aguinaldos") and also some venezuelan waltzes, serenades, bambucos and joropos; all venezuelan traditional genres. He was an exceptional artist and a very influential exponent of Venezuelan traditional music. He died in 2009.

I leave you the -roughly- translated lyrics below.

Caramba

Caramba, mi amor, caramba
lo bello que hubiera sido
si tanto como te quise
asi me hubieras querido,
caramba, mi amor, caramba
pasar este invierno triste
mirando caer la lluvia
que tantas cosas me dice.

Caramba, mi amor, caramba...

Caramba, mi amor, caramba
las cosas que nos perdimos
los chismes que solo escucho
entre las piedras del rio,
Caramba, mi amor, caramba
el viento con las espigas
aroma de caña fresca
y amargos de mandarina.

Caramba, mi amor, caramba...

Caramba, my love, caramba
how beautiful it would have been
if you had loved me
as much as I loved you
Caramba, my love, caramba
to spend this winter being sad
watching the rain fall,
which tells me so many things

Caramba, my love, caramba...

Caramba, my love, caramba
The things we missed
the chatter that I only hear,
between the rocks and the river
Caramba, my love, caramba
the wind with the spikes
the scent of fresh sugar cane
and bitters of tangerine

Caramba, my love, caramba...

What does Caramba mean?


Caramba is a spanish word that we use in different contexts, to express surprise or anger. According to The Urban Dictionary:

"Caramba is a common word used for expressing positive/negative reaction to an event", then they add: "If a translation has to be given, the most proper would be "gee" or "om my god". There is also an opinion which states that caramba is "the nice way to say" carajo,which is used like the slang shit!."

There are more than one translation of the word "Caramba", the ones I like the most are: good gracious, gosh, gee and blimey, because I feel they express the meaning of the word more accurately, although they are used on different contexts.

Like most words in Spanish, a complete translation is impossible, but I hope I've made the general use of the word at least a bit clear?

I hope you liked our rendition of Caramba. Let us know in the comment below and tell us what should we record next.

Alicia xx


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hello, lilixblack, upvoted and resteemed! Reply with "STOP" to end this madness.

Notice:

Starting next week @artturtle will be upvoting only those posts that contain one of the following tags: art, music, fashion, video, book(s), artopium, handmade, originalworks, artzone, photography, painting(s), utopian-io, openmic.

Want @ArtTurtle to follow you too and upvote and resteem your art, music, fashion, video and books? Find out how by visitng @artturtle and reading the latest report.

Hello @lilixblack, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I enjoyed your song, I think the first foreign song language I have listened to on steemit. I will need to expand my listening options, I already go and read foreign language pages use the translate function of the we browser, music does not really need to be translated, it is either good, (like yours) or not.

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it! I'm sure you'll be able to find some good music around here that's on a foreign language!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42