Music Monday - Nordic Monday

in #music5 years ago






I live in the far north of Germany, at the Baltic Sea, about 50 km away from Haithabu, an important Viking trading place in former times.
Since I am feeling a bit Viking myself today (Hail Odin!) I have chosen some Nordic music for this Monday.




Let´s start with a song about the man himself, because what´s not to like about a guy who gave an eye to gain wisdom.
He could be the patron saint of all inquisitive scientists.






Next one is quite a famous one (from Vikings).
I like this live version a lot, for the amazing scenery and the acoustics of the rocks.

Vikings on the rocks




Last one but ultimate one.
I love this one for its raw power, I think it´s very spiritual and it goes to show that you do not need a lot of technical gimmicks for great music and effect.






Up onto the overturned keel,
clamber with a heart of steel,
cold is the ocean spray,
and your death is on its way.

Thórir Jökull Steinfinnsson,
Icelandic warrior, recited this poem before his execution in 1238

Sort:  

Thanks for the poem as i am in the train without headphones and don't know what to expect from these exotic links :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Indian train? No problem! 😘

Wow, how atmospheric and haunting. I particularly love the second one - the setting is gorgeous and it must be amazing to see something like that live.

I love the throat singer in the last one and it's an amazing clip. I saw a Tuvulan throat singer at a folk festival in malaysia - just a drum and his singing - and it was pouring with tropical rain - incredibly powerful.

You had the love of maidens
each must die at some time.

Was very interested to go off and read about Steinfinsson and that poem!

Thanks so much for sharing - very powerful stuff, especially around this solstice time too!

@perceptualflaws, would love you to listen to that last track that @likedeeler posted! Amazing.

It is Rollo´s war cry! 😎


Awesome videos! I especially like the second one for its breathtaking setting. Thanks for sharing, as I don't know how else I would have come across it. (By doing a search for viking music maybe?)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97