You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some New Zealand music for Anzac day

in #music7 years ago

No Billy T?.
Did you do all the Maori action songs in primary school? or had they been phased out by then?.
Prince Tui Teka did a long [7 minutes ish] 'Maori Battalion' medley that covered a wide range of Maori songs as well.
To have a gang of Maori Army and Air Force guys sing Maori Battalion in their natural harmonies raises the hairs on the back of your neck.

Sort:  

No, we didn't do them, which was a shame. We do a few waiata in choir, and I'd like to have included a clip of us, but there are only some of our songs on Youtube.
But I will immediately go away and look for the Tui Teka medley you mention and some Billy T.
The hairs on the back of my neck are stirring, just thinking of how beautiful and powerful those harmonies would have been.

About the only thing to match them is the Fijian male choirs. The biggest bloke doing the tenor and the runt doing the bass. In 1958 to 60 the Suva radio station would close at 10.30 , usually with a male choir doing Isa Lei. Another hair raising memory.
While Maori was banned at school, we learned a lot of the traditional games and songs in primary schools, they were in the country which might have helped.

This Isa Lei might be closest to what you're describing that I can find

If I'd been a couple of years younger, I'd probably have been able to be in a Maori club and learned the songs.

These are the older members of the Fiji Army, try and add some high tenors from the youth, or walking past a church on Sunday and listening to the singing.
Brings a tear to the eye.

I think this is the Prince Tui Teka medley

I have never seen it before. But that is it. Well found,

Not much musical by Billy T around, but here's a snippet

I have got 7 of his songs, no pictures, on my hard drive, if you want them how can I send them to you.
One isn't for young ears, so I had better keep that one.

My ears are not that young - I suspect I've heard worse. Maybe next time Trevor comes up, he could put them on a stick and bring them down to Wellington for me. What are some of the songs? If I search for the title, maybe I'll have better luck.

Try: you tube / music / billy t james / songs.
don't watch the rare 1984 footage, you are to young.
also some of his TV ads are on the same spot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91