The Piano Lady shares... Silence.

in #music6 years ago

"Silence is a place you hide. Some people say it's like a lie. Conquering the world around me, Make it Lonely, Make it Lonely.... Silence."

Last year I released my first piano album in over 15 years: Reflection.
I am still shocked with myself as to why it took me so long to release more of my own work.

Music is my profession. I teach piano full time and perform and tour in the US and Europe regularly with other bands, but haven't done that much performing with my own music - even though it's the most authentically "me."

Being a cool "side girl" is fun, easy, and musically social, but ultimately I know I have to honor the "piano lady" in me. That's where the deeper music and writing is.
Sometimes it's just scary or intimidating to share yourself, because you have to open the doors of intimacy and vulnerability -- and the truth of you.

Silence is a song that I wrote about being silent.
Silence is place of escape, but freedom exists by letting it go.

Hope you enjoy!
Lyrics below too... <3



Silence was a brand new voice - Came with love, not by choice.
Quieted the intuition,  Said “don’t listen - don’t listen.”  

Silence was a state of grace - It became my favorite place -
Conquering the world around me -  Make it lonely - make it lonely.

Silence.

Silence is a place you hide - Some people say it’s like a lie.
What you hold becomes quite heavy - as you carry, as you carry.

Silence is the easy weapon - used instead of confession -
to the ones who abuse it - We choose it - We use it.

Silence.  

This is for forever after - Now is now and now is never -
All or less - it’s just the best that we remember - remember - remember  that we can let go. 

Let go.  

Silence is the way I watch you - From afar - with, without you.
All the thoughts that scream and dream -  I keep thinking - I keep thinking.

Silence I say to the voice - Don’t go past a wiser choice -
I’ll stop you now or live you later - I know better - I know better.

Silence.

This is for forever after. Now is now and now is never.
All or less - it’s just the best that we remember - remember - Love.

Love. Love.

Sort:  

Oh man, I love piano. And thanks for sharing this! Upvoted and resteemed! :)

I'm glad I found you on steemit. Your music is fabulous! I subscribed to your SoundCloud channel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56