Why I love rap (Part 1 of many!) Word Craftsmanship!

in #music6 years ago

The world of Rap from what I have seen so far, well its just crazy! It is literally a war zone out there. I'm not a fan!

Hey, this doesn't mean I don't love rap! If you have followed my previous posts then you would have seen that rap is something I consider a huge part of my life. I found a love in Poetry, In music, In its power and influence. The Ability to emotionally move someone is something of a phenomenon in itself!

          I just wish it was more like how I pictured it. Growing up with Rap I never looked too much into the lyrics. However, whenever I did, I was continually impressed by the clever word play, craftsmanship and most importantly the punch lines!

                 I know I mention Eminem a lot, but lets take it back to Eminem's Infinite.

                                infinite.jpg

    Ill just grab the first few lines of his first verse for this one!

Ayo, my pen and paper cause a chain reaction
To get your brain relaxin', the zany actin' maniac in action
A brainiac in fact, son, you mainly lack attraction
You look insanely wack when just a fraction of my tracks run

So I have just highlighted some of the rhymes in that little snippet. It is CRAZY! In the rap game, these are called multi's. A Multi is when you rhyme more than one word together. (essentially) For example

The Dog went over the moon
caterpillar in a cocoon
This is seen outside my room
let this be news to you.

As you can see I have put the rhyming words in Italics, There isn't much there. Its boring and very preschool! However! Back to Eminem's!

Ayo, my pen and paper cause a chain reaction
To get your brain relaxin', the zany actin' maniac in action
A brainiac in fact, son, you mainly lack attraction
You look insanely wack when just a fraction of my tracks run

We can see he rhymes multiple times in one sentence. Not only does this sound more impressive, but, it also sounds more fun and exciting! I have highlighted the two main parts to this piece. The Ay Rhymes and the On Rhymes.
Within the first sentence Em has distinguished what the sound of the verse will be Ay and On. You can see this with his first sentence:

Ayo, my pen and paper cause a chain reaction

Chain = Ay Sound
Reaction = On Sound

Straight away this opens up the possibility for two groups of words, words that sound like "ay" or "on". If we really dig into this sentence you can also highlight the word "paper" and put it into the "ay" group. (Now in one sentence he has rhymed two words and opened with a third). Crazy how indepth we can take this right?

To get your brain relaxin', the zany actin' maniac in action

Now we are a bit less subtle! Here we have three instances of rhyme. You have Brain , Zany_ and Maniac for the "ay" sound. Then, Relaxin', Actin' and Action. Wow! There is a lot of rhyming there! But lets incorporate the previous sentence.

Ayo, my pen and paper cause a chain reaction
To get your brain relaxin', the zany actin' maniac in action

The Amount of words that rhyme per sentence are now nine!
Ay = Paper, Chain, Brain, Zany and Maniac
On = Reaction, Relaxin', Actin' and Action

Way better than that last example with the moon and cocoon_, Huh?

This is why I love rap! Its poetry on steroids! You can make it whatever you want it to be, as intricate or as simple as possible!

Feel free to check out some of my work too! Go give it some love, Ill post it in the footer of this post!
Not many photos this time, If you stuck with me through this post than thank you for tuning in! :)

Would love to hear from you guys in the comment section below, Until the next time!

PS: Big Shout out to the User @the-idli-guy for making the bottom .gif! Check out the original post here


                                                ytlogo_old_new_1680.gif
                                                Check out my Youtube Channel HERE!

                                                U5dsavMueqGXNgrVc8fUhrruT5mhQFp.gif
                                                         Check out my Steem profile HERE!

Sort:  

Great in depth insight 👌 totally agree that M's insanely talented

Thanks for tuning in! I look forward to chatting more about rap with you! :)

For sure man, me too. Following you now

sweet man, same me to you!

Awesome! I learned that a lot has to do with 'verbal space'; maybe you can check it out

Verbal Space? Alright Ill check it out, thank you! :)

It is from the book 'Analysing Popular Music', chapter 3: From Lyric to anti-lyric: analyzing the words in pop song by Dai Griffiths :)

Awesome, I'll check it out!

Hello again, Kyle :)
We run a steem meetup on the last Thursday of each month, in the beer garden at the Jade on Flinders St.

Next one is on March 29th, from 6pm.
Please join us any time you're free, or hit me up if you have any questions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60696.11
ETH 3379.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52