🎶 Rediscovering an Amazing band - Walk off the Earth 🎶 You don't have to vote but should really check them out!

in #music8 years ago (edited)

I have recently rediscovered a band I hadn't seen in years, it turns out the video I saw changed these musicians lives forever.

The video went viral and like anyone who wants to make a go if it in the industry, they jumped at the opportunity they were presented with - since that time they appear to have achieved amazing success.

Their name is Walk off the Earth and for the past five years they have toured and released their own music along the way, but have always continued with their amazing original interpretations of cover songs.


Image source the Walk off the Earth website

Their videos are extremely creative and interesting to watch, they give you a visual component to every performance and as a viewer they draw you in.

I am not sure how well known but as they fell of my radar years ago, I wanted to ensure as many people check out these brilliant performers - you won't be disappointed!


Somebody that I used to Know:

The first video of theirs i happened upon all those years ago was a cover of somebody that I used to know, this is the very video that went viral and launched their career into unseen and unexpected waters.

Within the film clip you watch all five members playing a single guitar between them, they not only had three of them playing different sections of the strings they also incorporated percussion.

Four members of the group sing in this video, providing a beautiful and yet haunting harmony between them accentuated against the times when only one is singing - they have created a truly beautiful arrangement that rivals the original.


Royals:

This is in my opinion a masterpiece, the video would have been very cheap to produce and perfectly displays how talented each individual in the group truly is.

They have managed to create a video where the viewer is captivated to find out what will happen next, I found myself transfixed watching these clips - I wonder just how many takes it took to get it all right.

In this film clip it starts with four members on screen, in front of them are an arrangement of different instruments ranging from bells, cymbals, kick drums, ukuleles and small bass guitars with clappers attached, even cutlery tied around their necks accompanied by claps, clicks and slaps - eventually they are joined by a fifth who plays didgeridoos and other wind instruments that are suspended from the roof.

The thing that really blows you away is not only the unique and varied instruments and uses, but the fact that during the clip the instruments are passed intricately from one person to the next.

They all play the instruments and sing in turn throughout the song, it is really amazing to watch and my description does it little justice.


Can't Feel My Face:

There are three of the main group in this video and they are also featuring another artist called Scott Helman, They are playing a newly invented instrument called The Harpejji - and it sounds amazing and again they are all playing the instrument together.

The really insane thing about this video is the fact that the Sarah Blackwood the female of the group was in labour while they were filming, she gave birth only three hours later - what an amazing memory to be able to share with your child when they are older, plus amazing she could perform so well.

It appears that they toured during her pregnancy as well, they knew this was their opportunity and they weren't going to let it get away from them.


Shake it off:

What can I say this video is just awesome, these guys know how to have fun with their music and present it in a really interesting and compelling manner.

In this video the group are at the beach and like usual using a wide variety of instruments and vocal layers, they add extra complexity by constantly having instruments thrown off and on screen by others never missing a beat as they go - they just have amazing talent and focus.

It is also crucial to note they appear to do all clips in one take and given their complex design and structure, it is amazing they are able to create these videos with no editing for the most part.

Whilst they use similar methods in their videos, they always find a way to add a fresh new angle or idea - the creativity is awesome and the results are at times breathtaking.


Rule the World:

Now I am certain I have heard this song played on the radio in Australia, but i remember not having any idea who they were and it was only the once not the usual non stop repetition you usually hear on the radio these days.

This is an original song from Walk off the Earth and I really love their original music, this is my favorite so far and includes their unique style and personality in the video again.


Cheerleader:

Appears to have been filmed while they were on tour and of course they used the tour bus to its full use in this video, again all the artists use multiple instruments expertly.

I'm trying to pick the best to point out but to be honest so far I haven't found one I didn't like, this is really hard to try and choose the very best of a great body of work - I have spent hours going over their youtube channel checking out their different material.


Shape of You:

I'm going to make the last video the one that helped me to find these amazing artists again, I really hope anyone still reading really enjoys these songs as much as I have.

Wall off the Earth have quickly become a big favourite for me, this song is again performed brilliantly, and perfectly showcases their amazing raw talents in a unique and creative way.

There are heaps of songs and clips to check out and I really can't recommend you check them out yourself, you won't be disappointed!

I can't wait to see what they put out next, I am a very eager fan at this point.

What song did you like the best or have you found a treasure that I've missed?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines

Sort:  

This absolutely awesome! Never heard of them before. But you've shown me some real talents @krystle! Thank you so much!

No worries I think they are amazing and I'm kicking myself for having missed them for so long, however this has made for an awesome couple of days catching up and checking out what they have been up to.

I am so glad someone actually listened and checked them out, they are simply brilliant and deserve way more attention.

Always happy to help, enjoy :)

They were on Ellen a year or two ago.

Don't watch TV here sorry I missed it, Ellen likes to catch new trends and viral videos in general so not too surprising really.

Thanks for the picks! Youtube etc certainly has generated plenty of creative groups making waves with their works of art :)

No worries, there were too many too choose from - there were a lot of tough cuts.

Youtube offers an amazing opportunity for very talented people, we just need to find a way to get them to come here and post too :)

Wonderful Canadian group. Was lucky enough to see them at a park concert in Toronto while visiting family a few years back--before they hit the big time!

I got into them about 5 years ago when they released, the somebody that I used to know video and I saw at least one other one but then I lost track of them.

I would love the opportunity to hear them perform live you're extremely lucky, they appear to be flawless and that would be amazing to see live.

Not sure they would even classify it as having "hit the big time" yet, they are definitely and deservedly becoming more well known - but not really known at all here in Australia.

I think of worldwide success and recognition as a measure of having made it, I think they should and can I just think they need a bigger following to really make it and that is why I am encouraging people to check them out.

They only have 198 thousand twitter followers and 2,606,999 subs on youtube, obviously youtube was their initial home for success with the viral videos so they have a stronger base there - but still they deserve more followers for the simply amazing talent they have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80