Travel stories #1 - Azid Damonga conquers Koh Tao

in #music6 years ago

What's up Steemians! I have been absent for a while, but I have returned with a story for you guys.

Adventure awaits.jpg

As some of you already know, I am an expat living on Koh Phangan and every now and then I have to leave the island for a visa extension. I recently returned from one of these trips and on the bus ride to the ferry I had the honor of meeting an international DJ and producer, Azid Damonga. Check out his SoundCloud handel. He recently started a new project, Azid Heval.

We had a 17 hour trip ahead of us so we had a lot of time to get to know each other. First we boarded our bus at 5 pm and set off on an 11 hour bus trip to where we would catch our ferry that would take us to Koh Phangan. We started talking and shared a lot with each other regarding our lives and that's when I learnt that he was not only a DJ but also a producer. He was kind enough to let me listen to some of his new creations he was working on which he was going to play at a party on Koh Tao - on the 18th of March at Blue Water.This is an amazing venue on the beach and if you're traveling in the area this place is a must see. They have a sunset party every Sunday.

Initially, I had no intention of going to Koh Tao even though this has been one of the things on my to do list and so Azid had convinced me to finally do it and go see his performance. He recorded his set and posted it on SoundCloud for those who could not make it to the party. I made a short video of him playing which I will post on Dtube.

Damonga.jpg

Needless to say this party was amazing and everybody had a great time. Azid came back to Koh Phangan to play at more venues this side and we'll be sure to follow him on his journey here.

However that was not the end of the trip. Azid had played a 4 hour session that ended at 9:00 pm that evening, the night was still young and we were all in a dancing mood. During the party at Blue Water we also met the owner of another club called "The Factory" and she offered us a free taxi there after Blue Water. Azid met up with us again there and we had a great time.

As the night started to draw to an end, I realized that everybody I showed up with had disappeared. The Factory shut down at 3:00 am and I was alone, lost and drunk in an unfamiliar place and I had no money on me as I only took a certain amount of money. I had planned to catch a ferry that morning with my Australian friend that went to Koh Tao with me. I had no idea which direction I had to go in to reach the pier where I could take a nap until my ferry showed up. After an hour walk I gave up and sat on a bench in front of an internet shop and felt a little sorry for myself.

After a few minutes had passed I heard footsteps coming my way, it was a woman that seemed like she was feeling exactly what I was feeling. I stopped her and asked if she could point me in the direction of the pier but she was a tourist with no clue where she was. She was looking for her resort after being left by her friends as well. We were in the same position and decided to stick together. I helped her find her resort and that would help me because her resort was next to the pier. We set off in the dark both intoxicated and lost. After a few hours of walking we finally met up with her friend who had left her to get with a guy she met earlier that night but they were also lost and couldn't find the resort themselves.

HOPE.jpg

It was 5:00 am in the morning when a taxi came driving past us and saved us from walking another few hours. The taxi took us back to their resort where her friend and the other guy went straight to bed. I saw the pool and decided to go for a swim as the sun came up. It was a beautiful sunrise and even though I had lost everything, I felt happy and like all of it was supposed to happen to teach me something that I needed to know about myself and traveling. Everything happens for a reason and it all worked out fine in the end. I caught my ferry and made a really good friend that night.

Sort:  

You must have had a blast! I hope I will be able to shoot a video for my music project on Koh Tao, I hope the market will bounce back some time soon, haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99