You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cover Versions - What are your thoughts?

in #music7 years ago

Ha! When I featured House of the Rising Sun some months ago, @everittdmickey said someone else had done it before the Animals and I couldn't find it. But there you go - Woody Guthrie. It had its charms, but yep, I think The Animals' version is better. I'd never heard of Frijid Pink, but I liked their version too. Interesting to see the difference in style and how much it changed in just 5 years.

I agree Disturbed have done a superb cover of Sounds of Silence, full of power and passion. Which is better? Who can say? I love them both, but the subtlety of the original I think will always have a special place in my heart.

Another nomination for best cover is Gary Jules' version of the Tears for Fears song Mad World, from the movie Donnie Darko

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54953.89
ETH 2913.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03