You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Breaking down the eras of Classical Music

in #music6 years ago

That is so helpful! Firstly to know that the correct term to encompass all of it is Historical music, and then to see how the different eras tie in together. I'm sure I would find examples I like from all eras, but from dipping in here I would currently say - I like Renaissance and Baroque best, and from then on like it less and less, till I wouldn't like much at all in 20th century historic music. @enchantedspirit mentioned the impressionists like Ravel and Debussy. Where would they fit in, because I think I might like them?

And I'm fascinated to know how opera ties in with all of this too. Voice really is my thing, and although I love some music that doesn't have voice, voice makes it better for me. The first one, with the gorgeous interplay of the voices, was what I liked best in the Renaissance section. I know I only like some opera, but have no idea which type! Maybe one day I'll have to give you a list of some arias I like and see what you think.

Thank you!

Sort:  

The Impressionists belong to the 20th century, but being only able to have 4 choices made it pretty hard to represent everyone! Definitely, they are in my preferred end of the more modern era. I will be going back and doing more detail in each era, this was a whirlwind overview that made it hard to pick out any details.

Opera is completely tired in with this. Although, again I have a preference for the earlier time periods. Monteverdi Orfeo is considered the first real opera. But the secular operas in that period are very very closely linked to the sacred oratorio and other forms.

In addition, there is still a conflict of performance style (the stereotypical screaming giant vibrato version of the Opera singer) that clouds what people think of opera.

As a child & teenager, I certainly thought Dad's opera was a bunch of ghastly caterwauling. But then later, I began to identify specific arias that I liked a lot. I don't have a massive playlist (yet) but have started looking and find I have things from all periods. I was listening to a couple by Handel last night - Dove Sei & Ombra Mai Fu - sung by Andreas Scholl. OMG, that man's voice is such an exquisite instrument.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33