Became, The Morning - "Sabah El Sabah"

in #music6 years ago (edited)

This is the best I could make in a translation faithful to this popular Egyptian song called "Sabah El Sabah" which literally means "Morningized is the morning" assuming that it could be expressed in English that way but I thought of giving it a shot...so I gave it this alien title hoping it resonates some truth

I also inserted timestamps so you can follow what is being said and when...

"Became, The Morning"

0:53 "Ah..(Hassan Maswoud)...Ah, beautiful, talk...Talk,Hassan...May God re-compensate you...it's ok..(Hassan Maswoud is the name of the guy playing the organ)

2:36 Ah, yea...(Taalat) Beautiful...Allah, Allah...oh greatness...
2:50 Allah, Allah.. oh, monsignor..May God be generous to you...
3:08 Oh, relaxed...oh, beautiful..
3:26 Allah, Allah..

3:54 Became... The Morning...Oh night! And you left, early..("and you left" is referring to the night)
4:30 All the cells are blooming and...my cells are not, from early..("cells" are referred to the people and "blooming" as they wake up in the morning...)
5:10 And the people wake up, to talk about the people, from early..
5:31 Why! leave the creation to the Creator.. For He is a generous God..
6:30 He has created beauty... and distributes the wealth, from early..
7:48 Oh my eyes...oh my night... (this is a recurring "idioma" used in this genre of music like a cry in the lonely night: "Oh my eyes" because of the pain from crying and "oh my night" calling on his only companion for help as everybody asleep)
8:17 Oh shameful World, retract!..your attitude is indifferent like that... why?..And you let the coward rise and the hero fall like that... why?.. (refers to the cold world in face of injustice)
8:43 That who walks with conscience.. you sell and buy him off..
9:00 And I...and I, and I..., I complained to the stones of the World, of your state..And if lastly I am to be prevailed, oh World..the World, I will give you...And I don't want to see anyone being humiliated by you..("complained to the stones" is an expression of desperation...finally he is willing to give up his world to see everybody treated with dignity)
9:38 I want to see the hero high... And no coward above him

9:55 oh yea...Adaweya, beautiful...what you say?!...what?..what is it?... May God re-compensate you... oh Adwa ("Adwa" is a nickname for Adaweya) oh, beautiful...Adaweya......

The singer is "Ahmed Adaweya" aka the King of populist music in Egypt


This genre can be considered a mix of soul, blues and a little of pop too...
This type of music is called "Mawal" in Arabic which is the closest you will get to the "blues"
It refers and talk about the everyday life and struggle...
Metaphorically the difference of the social classes can be seen clear as "day from night"... just like he cries it out in the very first lines of the song...

This song was also an intro to a featured movie back in 1978 I believe and here is the video clip of it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83