You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vinyl: I put one on the turntable and when the needle dropped... I was stunned 🎶

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Enjoyed your article! I'm one of those who used to rest a penny or dime on the needle--especially if the album was scratched/warped/hacked because it'd been listened to so much.
I've got a vintage Pioneer turntable and the speakers/stereo my Dad bought in 1970. Seems the records produced during that decade were made for my stereo as they sound so deep.
It's been awhile since I got a needle and think I'll get a new one after reading your post.
PS--Our community radio station, KMUN has an extensive record collection and many of the DJ's do use them :) ASTORIA, OREGON

Sort:  

Damn I really didn't know about this pennies trick. And as I read in the comment from @coinsandchains and combine it with your comment it is really for damaged vinyl to avoid the skipping you get from scratches etc. Very cool even I am learning new things by writing this article, thank you for those wonderfull adds 👍

Pioneer for the speakers and amplifier as well? You have a picture from your set?
And I can imagine your set sounds great with those oldies. Pioneer was one of the bigger players during that age I think?

Cool to hear KMUN uses turntables to broadcast music! Can I hear that station online?

What element your using at the moment?

stereo.jpg

Tape player is a cheap one I picked up for $10 at a garage sale, receiver and speakers were the ones I grew up with. Record player came later as my mother had thrown away original reel to reel and record player.
Here is a link to the radio station: http://coastradio.org/ and yes, you can listen online. They feature NPR :/ which not everyone likes, but the rest of the shows are covered by local, volunteer d.j.'s.
I am ashamed to say I don't know which element, I looked yesterday to try and see the number and couldn't w/o removing. After reading your article, I'm going to change the needle and cartridge.
Any suggestions?

Ok quick reply, need to go for my first training in the pool from the new season.

Does the needle looks like this one:

I think you can better replace the element (instead of only the needle) and probably a AT-92E or a AT-95E element would fit. The 92 is cheaper, the 95 produces better sound quality. Will do a better search later, can you post an close-up picture from the element?

needle1.jpg![needle2.jpg]
()

Hope you had a great swim!
Here are a couple of pics. Sorry they aren't the clearest. Looks similar to the one you pictured above.
Thanks!

They look similar indeed. Think you will do a hell of an upgrade with the elements I mentioned.

Edit: The swim was great thanks for asking! Tonight the second one yihaa!
Edit2: Friday day off because I need to prepare for a dinner on saturday. So wil give the radiostation you mentioned a try than. Will let you know.

Can't wait! Thank you for your help :)
Yihaa!

And did you upgrade? :D

Yes, have ordered, but haven't got it yet, so I'll let you know how it sounds :) Thank you for the article and recommendations!~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45