You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Benjamin Britten's War Requiem performed in Johannesburg last night

in #music6 years ago

Dear @carlgnash, I've been wearing poppies since I was a child in the 1960s as a way for the adults to teach us about the horrors of WW1 and WW2, and I think the significance of war started to hit me even then, so their techniques must have worked...I recently found a school project I did on "ethnic clashes" in Zaire in the 1970s which sounded depressingly like some of the conflicts we still experience in Africa to this day. As you say, it's hard to stomach that people can do this to each other. I've always taken the experience of visiting war graves seriously, but only recently have I had the...opportunity, if that's the right word, of visiting such big cemeteries as can be found in the north of France. It is simply terrible to see the loss of potential and light in those places. I hope your prayers find root somewhere. Thank you for sharing your insights and your peace....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64564.26
ETH 3223.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65