What's your #1 favourite piece of music? Here's mine.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music8 years ago (edited)


Life is a mysterious journey...
When the website's ready, get out. Shower the streets with STEEM-backed paper tokens.
These tokens are to provide simple instructions for any STEEM-powered app registration.
Upon registration, the user needs to get hooked right away,
swimming in all the value that STEEM users have built over the centuries lol.

Sort:  

Though if I were forced to PICK ONE it would be this album... it is a concept album so like one gigantic song... it is so complex, mind melting, and multi-layered that this LITERALLY sat in my car stereo CD player for a YEAR without removing it. That was a record. So anywhere I drove I was listening to this.

EDIT: For those of you unfamiliar with it. Guy gets hypnotized sees a past life, witnesses a murder, and it is kind of like a past life regression murder mystery with vast progressive instrumental interludes. It has heavier sounds, and then mellow sounds, it has long instrumentals, it has vocals, it even has a choir in some parts. Damn good album.

You only had one job.. and it's an 80 minute megatrack recommendation lol. Well done sir, I think I listened to some of these steve vai stuff back in college. Some change in music for the weekend then :)

You forced me to one... so I had to pick one that could encompass all of my moods. I edited my other reply with 4 separate tracks. I don't really have a favorite. If you'd asked me this question 30 years ago I probably had one then. ;)

Love me some prog, Portonoy is a friggin' beast!

He is indeed. Yet honestly that can be said of every single member of this band with this particular line up. That's a rare thing.

Very rare, for sure!

Also it was the multi-layers and prog that kept me interested for a year. I'd be able to pay attention to something I didn't notice before. So it kept my mind working and entertained for a year of driving around. It may have drove my family a little nuts, but they survived. :)

Hey, whatever works. :)

Allow me to answer this for everyone. The following is EVERYONE'S favorite song.

Am I the only one who thinks both of these tracks sound somewhat similar?

Your track and The Imperial March?

Hahaha... I don't see it.... Yours was very Jazzy (but fun)... yet didn't resemble the sort of modern Classical almost in the vein of Wagner vibe of the Star Wars piece. :)

That is indeed a popular song. I whistle it, hum it, play it on keyboard, play it on guitar. :)

It is definitely up there.

EDIT: I still remember hearing it at age 6 in a theater in Aspen, Colorado. Was pretty stunning... music was as amazing as the movie.

My favorite track... has to be something by Richard D. James (a.k.a. Aphex Twin). His releases under "The Tuss" are mind melting. Here's Synthacon 9:

Ectomorph rules too. Check out Skin:

Nice, listened to them, but not these tracks before - thanks!

I really appreciated your choice!
It's hard to get only one, but tonight it will be "Help I'm Alive" by Metric -...no, I changed my mind.
My choice is Sigur Rós - Hoppípolla!

Nice, been too long since I've listened to Sigur Ros!

This is one of my favorites, it transmits me hope, something needed after these last changes on Steemit! ;)

well maybe this one

its hard to decide between the two

Straight edge buddy.

compared to what I say on other social media its literally nothing lol

Hahah.. example? I'm a busybody

well here is a quote from this morning
"What do you mean hang them by their entrails...... I thought we were going to force the kids to eat them while they were still alive?"

I don't have one. I have several. Depends upon my state of mind and mood.

EDIT: I replied with ONE I'd choose if I were forced... and it was kind of cheating as it is an entire concept album. However, depending upon mood currently I'd pick the one I shared, or one of the following:




I tend to gravitate between those as a favorite at the time, but I like LOTS of music...

Hands down the best one, masterpiece from Clash, perfect song.

Nice! It's somewhat ska-esque

For me, it has to be this classic from Calibre:


Beautiful rolling bassline :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72