Understanding Vaporwave: Lesser Artists Borrow, Great Artists Steal

in #music8 years ago (edited)

A very interesting video on what I consider to be the edge of entertainment. This is what happens when one tries to explain a growing internet culture. I think it's just a counter-culture that emerged to regulate modern, formulaic pop culture. And ironically, it's becoming a meme itself.


Follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

Resteemed

The part of your title for this post

Lesser Artists Borrow, Great Artists Steal

reminds me of something John Lennon once said in an interview.
The interviewer asked him if The Beatles borrowed musical influences from early American Rock and Roll artist and John said:

We don't borrow it, we steal it. Borrowing implies it doesn't belong to us and we have to give it back, stealing means it now belongs to us, Besides, there's only 12 notes, it's not like we invented them.

Well in a way, music is usually shared, hence giving it back (to the collective) :)

100% waporware >


More like electronica / synthpop / synthwave ;) But thanks!

I do not know exactly, but what if it is true is that this music, the music of Javiera Mena, especially these 2 songs that are shared even though they are made a little while listening to you make you go back in time to the 80s, both the Sound like the video and a lot of details, it's like being listening to a song in the 80's.
Many people agree on that, it happens to me, tell me what you think? Transports you to the 80's too? Do you like this style? I love it.



Ah man this is awesome! Thnx for sharing and please keep these kind of videos going. As a matter of fact This could turn into a channel/page on it's own. Sort of a Steemit MTV (docu wise).

Np man glad u enjoyed it. I would do more, but I still like writing my longform content (which i write about stuff i care bout) but I just don't have the time this week hence the videos/link. Although sometimes admitedly the contents found outside are already available and the quality is off the roof..

True True. I meant itmore in a way as a sort of TIL channel with these types of short info/docu vids. I really likes this series for example.

Considering it's Red Bull +100k views is not that much, so there is lots of potential to show these types of video's to an (new) audience.

Ah got it! I think i'm gonna start having 2 kinds of tags, #shortpost and #longpost

Yeah, considering the amount of time a new channel takes that's a good idea :D

so funny and insteresting, thanks for sharing

Glad you found it awesome :) Thanks for dropping by!

mycket bra

thank you :). may I ask why you've yet to start a blog?

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $32.58 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66989.78
ETH 3524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69