Musical Memories

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Isn't it funny how music defines your life or sparks certain memories. In 1992, I moved from Tulsa, Oklahoma to Daytona Beach, Florida to start a new business. I won't go into the details. I drove from Daytona Beach to Orlando every business day 50 miles one way, I had a house five miles from the beach and put up with the long drive because of that. The employment situation was grim when I left Oklahoma and I couldn't find employment anywhere. There were more good times than bad times in the 90s and the music defined that era. I am into alternative rock music mainly, some hard rock. My favorite bands during the 90s was Bush, Stone Temple Pilots, The Cranberries, Marcy Playground, Social Distortion, The Meat Puppets, Matchbox20, Creed, Puddle of Mudd, Seven Mary Three who was from the Orlando area I believe, bands along those lines, now I enjoy music from a lot of decades but the memories are strong because my life was going pretty well until I left in January 1999. Deaths of family members made me want to return to be with my brothers and cousins who lived still in Oklahoma.
"Still Remains" by STP still stands out a lot now because the recent death of lead singer Scott Weiland, one line of the song goes like this, "If you should die before me ask if you can bring a friend...pick a flower, hold your breath and drift away". . .Matchbox20's "Back 2 Good" reminds me of the nightlife of Downtown Orlando a lot and the bars along Church Street. I was a big time gambler in those days, I was single in my 30s and no kids, so I partied hard and gambled harder, Blackjack, Jai Alai and horse racing was my fuel. When my mom passed in 1998, the song by Creed, "What's this Life for" was playing as I rode in the hearst with my moms body in the casket. My favorite band then was Stone Temple Pilots and the Cranberries, Delores O'Riordan's power ballads still etched in my brain, when she died recently, the remake of "Zombie" by Bad Wolves still choke me up. Now here I sit on my laptop, sipping coffee on a rainy day in Barnes & Noble back in Tulsa, OK in 2018, I think back to those times and wonder where did they go? But the Musical Memories of those long ago days still put a smile on my face. It's the memories that make life interesting or the musical ones as well. As Alanis Morrisette said in her song, Isn't it Ironic, Don't you Think? Yes, I really do think. Ms Catherine what do you think? I wonder...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56609.34
ETH 2990.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16