@kaykunoichi 's Dig With Me Sunday's - Unearthing Vinyl samples used in today's Music. Week 1 August 20th 2017. Erykah Badu - Who did she sample?

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Dig With ME.jpg

I have been conjuring up this series for a while. And I can't hold it back any longer..

What is Dig With Me Sunday's though?

Dig with me Sunday's is about digging for records, be it obscure or well known records of Jazz, Blues, Hip Hop, Soul, Funk, Country - whatever we take a liking to while on our dig mission. Every Sunday a new record will be posted along with songs that have sampled the record. Anyone is invited to make a beat out of the weekly sample & post it on their blog. Sunday seemed like a fitting day for us.

This will be an online digging session with intermittent REAL LIFE DIGGING VLOGS in between.

Sharing an obsession

I'd sit for hours in OP SHOPS searching for records. Anyone with the same love for digging knows the feeling. I don't even make beats but I've been digging for over 10 years. Though I am an MC so it's natural for me to wonder where the samples in by beats come from. I am most interested in the cover art & jazz. I can share some of my records with you later. I received a voucher for a record store for my last birthday (I know Genius present) And it got me thinking about an old love I've neglected this year. DIGGING

So lets get in to the groove Badoom psssht

Dig with me Sunday's - Week 1 August 20th 2017

I came across Nancy Wilson while looking at a selection of records from a store here in New Zealand called Real Groovy. Listening to her music made me wonder who has sampled her, because you know for sure someone has. This is what I found..

Nancy WilsonI'm in Love (1).jpg

Nancy Wilson - I'm in Love

From the Jazz singers 1978 Vinyl LP Music on my mind

Erykah Badu - Honey

From her 2008 album New Amerykah Part One (4th World War)

Can you tell the sample? When you start to recognize samples you appreciate both artists more & learn where the sound originated from.

Beat maker's!

Would you like to sample this song & show us what you come up with?
Can you find any other songs that used this sample? Show me

I hope you enjoyed week 1 of Dig With me Sunday's Join me next week for round 2!

Upvote.jpg

Sort:  

Nice that's really cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51