"Tread Softly" - new cover of Eileen Laverty

in #music2 years ago

This is a song that has been precious to me for decades, often coming to mind. I had the inspiration to record it yesterday to share.

The lyrics are an adaptation of Yeats' "Aedh Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven."

Hope it brings peace and hope to you today in a weird world, as it has often for me.

Lyrics:

If I had the cloths of heaven
I would lay them at your feet
But all I have to offer are my dreams

Rays of sunshine tied with moonbeams
If I could I’d give them freely
But I’ve only golden threads of wishes
And silver glimpses of what might be

Tread softly
I gave my heart, I gave my soul
Tread softly
I gave my heart, I gave my soul

I don’t need costly jewels nor robes of silk
No Swiss account nor work of arts
Just let me find a treasure map to lead me to your heart

And I’ll tread softly
I gave my heart, I gave my soul
And I’ll tread softly
I gave my heart, I gave my soul

If I had the cloths of heaven
I would lay them at your feet
But all I have to offer are my dreams

Tread softly
Tread softly
Tread softly
I gave my heart, I gave my soul
And I’ll tread softly
I gave my heart, I gave my soul

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97