One of my very favourite songs!! Bruce Cockburn cover - Lovers in a Dangerous Time

in #music6 years ago (edited)

The Barenaked Ladies were the first band I heard sing this song, in a video with them on a flatbed truck driving around in the iconic Canadian winter, and I've loved it ever since. It's actually by Bruce Cockburn - the best Canadian lyricist, to my mind. I play it at almost every show I do; it's become a bit of one of my personal "classics".

I love it - he wrote is during the Cold War when things were incredibly tenuous, the threat of nuclear war constantly hanging overhead. He walked by a couple making out in the park, or so the story goes, and he saw this incredible juxtaposition between the passion and fearlessness of young love and the reality of violence and war--and it inspired a wonderful, haunting song.

Hope you enjoy my rendition of it - a new take! Bruce Cockburn's lyrics below.

Don't the hours grow shorter as the days go by
You never get to stop and open your eyes
One day you're waiting for the sky to fall
The next you're dazzled by the beauty of it all

When you're lovers in a dangerous time
Lovers in a dangerous time

These fragile bodies of touch and taste
This vibrant skin -- this hair like lace
Spirits open to the thrust of grace
Never a breath you can afford to waste

When you're lovers in a dangerous time
When you're lovers in a dangerous time

When you're lovers in a dangerous time
Sometimes you're made to feel as if your love's a crime --
But nothing worth having comes without some kind of fight --
Got to kick at the darkness 'til it bleeds daylight

When you're lovers in a dangerous time
When you're lovers in a dangerous time

Xx,
Kay

Sort:  

songs beautiful.. Your Beautiful

Thank you for listening and for your kind words!

I heard the song kren, I like

Love your rendition, thanks for another classic!!

So glad you like it!

Awesome, again, Kay. You know I'm a fan of Cockburn's already, but I was wondering which of his albums you like best. Humans is my favorite, I guess.

You know, I haven't gotten to know him through albums--I just have a bunch of favourite songs and really tend to always respect/enjoy all of his work.

You should give them a listen. Tokyo is an amazing song.

Listening now. Love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97