A PROPER HAPPY NEW YEAR: Auld Lang Syne

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I've always loved this song since I heard it sung at the end of It's a Wonderful Life when I was a kid.

(As many of you know, I can tend toward the so-called "high-brow" - although I don't really see it that way.. another post for another time - in my artistic tastes, but this movie is still one of my favourites: a real story, beauty, compelling characters, light-heartedness, darkness, humanity and humour, and HOPE.)

Anyway, it is the perfect, classic New Year's song: nostalgia and beauty--you can feel in the melody the simultaneous looking back and looking forward, I think. Last year, I recorded it independently for my winter/Christmas selection EP.

The tone underneath is a Byzantine chant-inspired touch that made this version what it is. I realized only after that it was fitting for a classic Scottish song with a gentle echo of the bag pipes' drone.

Now it's time to share it with you! Happy new year!

xx,
Kay

Your support means a lot to me. Thanks for following @kayclarity and resteeming my posts if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems. xx

Sort:  

Beautiful singing! Happy New Year!!! :)

Thank you! :)

Thank you very much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62