ORIGINAL MUSIC: Still My Mind

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I sat down with my guitar last night and resurrected a song I wrote many years ago, a tune that circles itself like a whirlpool of whispers and wanting.

This is a raw take using my iPhone as a mic (‘cause I ain’t got nothin' better to record with). Of course, I finally got it how I wanted it when my voice was getting tired. Still, raspy late-night singing is sometimes the right sound for the song. I think it works.

Here’s Still My Mind on Soundcloud. Lyrics below.


Still My Mind


Stand in the center of my circle and try to be still
Bend my will
Stand in the center of my circle and try to be still

Parallel universe falls through my mind
Like a star in someone else’s sky
Why should I still my Gemini mind
When there’s so many directions my heart wants to fly

Eyes peer out from the dark of a brim
And roam over my skin
I step out as who I really am
To face those eyes and a welcoming grin

I’ve been a warrior
I’ve been a queen
Now I find myself
Somewhere in between

Om shanti I want to find peace
But I don’t wanna have to still my mind
And the lover in my heart wants to throw her arms around
Every magnificent creature I find

Stand in the center of my circle and try to be still
Bend my will
Stand in the center of my circle and try to be still

Original lyrics by Katrina Ariel

night sky spinning
photo: Jeff Golenski


Thank you for listening. I hope you enjoyed the song.

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Banner by @PegasusPhysics

the alliance
Banner by @bearone

Steemsugars

Sort:  

gorgeous, and a degree of honesty and vulnerability that permeates through much of your writing and connects with so many - glad to see it connecting with others on another level through your music.

Thank you so much. Yes, my raw honesty comes through whether I want it to or not. lol! Really appreciate your encouragement, my friend.

Beautiful voice Katrina. Love the lyrics too. Keep 'em comin' 😊

Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed the song and the lyrics. I hope to record more to share. 💖💖💖

And before I forget, you have such a beautiful, raw and crisp voice.

Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed the song and can relate to it. So appreciate your support! :)

I told my beloved friend I liked his voice before.
I still agree. You are really great!

Thank you very much, @artizm. :)

Fukn beautiful.


All the feels, eh? ;) So glad you enjoyed it! Thank you. :)

its really very nice post dear @katrina-ariel thanks for shearing this original music vid:)))

Thanks for listening.

Love it Katrina! I can definitely relate to it and felt as if it was my song.

This is such a high compliment. Thank you!

Congratulations @katrina-ariel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I listen to loads of music and I am sure when I say your voice is beautiful :)

Keep at the magic that is your lyrics.

Thank you so very much! What a compliment. 💖

Nice song. How often do you record?

Thanks very much! I hardly ever record. My guitars have been in closets until recently, and it's nice to get a track up even at this raw stage. Do you record as well?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64196.23
ETH 2757.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71