Sound of silence - the tag inventor

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Just back from the first concert of my youngest daughter - So I would just write some words... I haven't in the last few days, mostly because I sometimes get weary of words in a way i do not get by music and images. So I invented a tag like @shortcut does all the time:

#nowords

try it out. No rules really, but I myself stopped using words even in the comments.

So I have communicated with images, gif-animations and maybe I should also have used music... I will from now on. @ocrdu need special mention as he has jumped right into the difficult art of communicating with me through images. Sometimes I haven't got a clue what he means, but I am sure he is equally baffled by my responses.

cosmic_cowboy.png

So one more little thing. I just watched this little clip that is priceless. It is so perfect that you probably do not need to read the book (his memoires) that he is trying to promote.

Sort:  

I could write down what I think you were on about, and what I intended to convey, but that would be cheating and break the spell.

And we can't have cheating, can we?

No, that would be cheating.


He was booed from the get-go :-)


Dylan's live electric debut was with guitarist Mike Bloomfield, with whom he had recorded "Like A Rolling Stone." They were each playing at the Newport Folk Festival, Bloomfield with the Paul Butterfield Blues Band. The story goes like this:

"On Saturday, July 24, 1965, Dylan performed three acoustic songs... at a Newport workshop. According to Jonathan Taplin, a roadie at Newport (and later a road manager for the acts of Dylan's manager Albert Grossman), Dylan made a spontaneous decision on the Saturday that he would challenge the Festival by performing with a fully amplified band. Taplin said that Dylan had been irritated by what he considered condescending remarks which festival organiser Alan Lomax had made about the Paul Butterfield Blues Band when Lomax introduced them for an earlier set at a festival workshop. Dylan's attitude, according to Taplin, was, "Well, fuck them if they think they can keep electricity out of here, I'll do it. On a whim he said he wanted to play electric." Dylan assembled a band and rehearsed that night at a mansion being used by festival organizer George Wein." source

Mike Bloomfield could have done those first tours, but like Dylan he was true to his art. Here's what organist Al Kooper said about it:

One day during the mid-1965 sessions for Bob Dylan's electric turning point, Highway 61 Revisited, some of the studio musicians were having dinner. Guitarist Michael Bloomfield – a brash young virtuoso from Chicago who also played in the Paul Butterfield Blues Band – asked the others, "Are you going to be in a band Bob forms to play this music? If you get the chance, you should." He quickly added, "I'm not."

"I thought, 'That's hilarious,'" recalls organist Al Kooper, one of the sidemen at that meal. "Michael said he loved being in a blues band, and nothing could unseat him from that." Kooper did tour briefly with Dylan after the album was done. "I was 90 percent ambition, 10 percent talent," he admits, laughing. Bloomfield was "the reverse – 90 percent talent, 10 percent ambition." source

Thanks, I enjoyed that Robbie Robertson clip.

Thanks. My historical knowledge deepens. Listening to some Bloomfield right now...

The English guitarists get a lot of credit as white guys who discovered the blues and spread it to a generation of younger white kids. That is true, but if one hears what Mike Bloomfield was putting down in 1964 -- he was deep into it at a whole different dimension. And the Paul Butterfield Blues Band was turning lots of college kids on to blues in the early 60s.

I know you love Son House, I think this clip is from the Newport Festival mentioned above. It's so great to hear Son House talk, and to hear Mike's almost childlike enthusiasm.

Dylan called him the greatest guitarist he ever worked with. I've written about him in the past, and a few years ago I had some contact with a guy who put together a fantastic multi-part film about the Mike Bloomfield Story.

This is really worth watching if you are digging his playing

Thanks a lot, you are really a treasure chest! I will look further into it!

Ooh #nowords. I could do that. Sometimes I'll snap some shots and think "I'd love to share this with the Steemit gang" and then the thought of people saying 'shit post' or 'not enough content' and I don't do it. Now, your hashtag would give me meaning. And the comments could be like a picture book of responses :)

We are already doing it! Strange image and music conversations!

Ocrdu

Shortcut

Me

Give it a go and I will resteem.

Clint Eastwood looks straight into your heart, and if you upset your mommy, he already knows it.

giphy.gif

I just know your daughter is also a musician, may your daughter more successful ,,

Both my girls are educated in music. The best way to learn to listen to music.

His words is really self explanatory and informative as well, I like his charisma what an exciting interview he had @katharsisdrill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59