Sort:  

Thanks for resteem, it was a post that I started drafting a couple of weeks ago, and it slowly grew as I added more bits to it! I will probably do better detailed ones later, there was just too much to cover!

I know the drill. Hard to limit yourself when there is so much to tell and teach. I like your examples - Stockhausen was so much better than Pierre Boulez' serialism. That would have put people off, helicopters on the other hand!

Absolutely magnificent. Being a musician and somewhat a musicologist myself, I can definitely appreciate the explanations provided here; I took a music appreciation course in college, actually, and some of the examples you provided took me right back there; polyphony, for instance. If you want further back from the renaissance, Sister Hildegard of Bingin is a great place to start; somehow, some of her beautiful works remain. And don't forget the masses ...

Yes, her works are great! It was pretty hard to limit myself to only 4 choices to represent each period. I will need to do more detailed posts later!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60239.77
ETH 2896.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45